NY CLE: New York CLE Deadline


Happy Birthday… your New York CLE compliance is due![1] New York attorneys get an extra birthday present every two years – CLE compliance. That’s because New York attorneys must report NY CLE compliance every two years when they file the attorney registration card.

NY CLE Deadline

  • You must report NY CLE compliance 30 days after your birthday.

You must complete your New York CLE requirement and report compliance 30 days after your birthday on alternate years in order to timely complete your NY CLE reporting obligations.  All New York attorneys must certify that they have completed their NY CLE requirement and that the proper documentation such as certificates have been retained.

[1] Experienced New York attorneys must complete 24 credit hours every 2 year compliance period to complete the biennial NY CLE requirement, including 4 credit hours of legal ethics.

Tagged , , , , , ,

CA CLE: Last Names N-Z Complete CA MCLE by February 1


California MCLE (Minimum Continuing Legal Education) refers to the approved continuing legal education that California attorneys must complete every three years. Each three-year CA CLE compliance period California attorneys must complete a total of 25 hours of approved California CLE credit. Of those 25 required CLE hours, you must complete 4 hours of legal ethics, 1 hour of competence issues and 1 hour of elimination of bias. And please make sure to complete at least 12.5 hours of participatory credit!

CA MCLE Last Names N-Z

  • Deadline: 2/1/2017

California attorneys with last names N-Z (Group 3) must complete and report CA CLE compliance by the February 1 CA MCLE reporting deadline. California attorneys beware: the State Bar of California has conducted thousands of California MCLE audits over the last few years. If you want to continue to practice law in California you must remember to properly complete your required California CLE! For more information about the CA MCLE requirement please click the following link: CA CLE.

Tagged , , , , ,

NV CLE: Complete 12 Hours by December 31


Nevada attorneys must complete a minimum of 12 NV CLE credit hours each annual Nevada CLE compliance period. Attorneys licensed in Nevada must also complete at least two (2) credit hours of legal ethics as part of the 12 unit Nevada CLE requirement.[1] All NV CLE credits must be completed and reported by December 31 to remain in compliance with the Nevada CLE requirement.

NV CLE Deadline

  • December 31

You are quickly running out of time to complete your NV CLE requirement… 2017 will be here before you know it!  Don’t wait until December 31 to get started studying your Nevada CLE, you can sign up and start taking Nevada CLE courses in minutes with Attorney Credits! To access more information about Nevada CLE please click here: NV CLE.

[1] Please note that Nevada attorneys now also have a substance abuse requirement that must be completed every three years.

Tagged , , , ,

PA CLE: December 31 CLE Deadline for Group 3


Pennsylvania attorneys must complete at least twelve (12) CLE credit hours each annual compliance period in order to fulfill the Pennsylvania CLE requirement.[1] Attorneys in Pennsylvania are broken down into 1 of 3 Pennsylvania CLE Compliance Groups for CLE compliance and reporting purposes. Pennsylvania attorneys that are in compliance Group III are currently due for compliance and must complete the PA CLE requirement by December 31.[2]

PA CLE Compliance Group III

January 1 – December 31

Pennsylvania attorneys that are in Group III may complete 6 PA CLE hours by completing Attorney Credits online and downloadable Pennsylvania CLE courses. Attorney Credits offers individual courses (including legal ethics courses) and also offers 6 unit CLE compliance packages for Pennsylvania attorneys in compliance Group III. For more information about CLE in Pennsylvania please click here: PA CLE.

[1] As part of the annual 12 hour PA CLE requirement, Pennsylvania attorneys must now complete at least a minimum of two (2) hours of legal ethics, professionalism or substance abuse.

[2] The PA CLE groups are chosen randomly by lawyer ID number. Once you are assigned to a PA CLE compliance group, your compliance group will never change. Even if your last name changes, your PA CLE Compliance Group will remain the same.

Tagged , , , ,

CO CLE: Colorado CLE Deadline is December 31


The CO CLE deadline is quickly approaching!! Colorado attorneys are required to complete 45 hours every three years in order to complete the Colorado CLE requirement.[1] Of the forty-five (45) required Colorado CLE credit hours, a minimum of seven (7) credit hours must be completed in the area of legal or judicial ethics. All 45 required CO CLE credit hours must be completed by December 31.

December 31 CO CLE Deadline

  • All CO CLE credit hours must be completed by December 31

Attorney Credits is an Approved Sponsor of CLE in Colorado.[2] Our Colorado CLE courses have all been approved for CLE credit by the Colorado CLE Board for Home Study credit because our CO CLE courses meet the requirements of the Colorado MCLE Rules. For more information about Colorado CLE, please click the following link: CO CLE.

[1] You must also report your CLE compliance to the Colorado CLE Board before January 31. Please note that noncompliance with the mandatory Colorado CLE requirement may result in late penalty fees and/or suspension from practice of law in Colorado.

[2] We are listed as “attcre” with the Colorado CLE Board.

Tagged , , , , ,

AZ CLE: Arizona MCLE Reporting


Arizona attorneys are required to report completion of the required 15 AZ CLE credits each year. Arizona lawyers must submit proof of completing their AZ MCLE requirements each year on a form provided by the State Bar of Arizona.[1] Alternatively, Arizona attorneys may also use the blank affidavit that’s located in the Arizona Attorney magazine issued in mid-August to report compliance with the Arizona MCLE requirements.

Arizona CLE Reporting

Arizona attorneys must file the CLE affidavit annually by September 15

Please be aware that the State Bar of Arizona does not certify CLE providers nor courses. Attorney Credits is a national provider of CLE and currently offers thousands of CLE courses in 48 states.[1] We are Approved Providers of CLE in a number of main states including California, Illinois and Texas. Arizona attorneys have also completed thousands of AZ CLE through Attorney Credits by completing our interactive online and offline CLE courses. For more information about CLE in Arizona please click here: AZ CLE.

[1] Reporting Cycle: Annual, Compliance Deadline: June 30, Reporting Deadline: September 15

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

NJ CLE: Group 1 New Jersey CLE Deadline is December 31


New Jersey attorneys are required to complete at least 24 credit hours of continuing legal education (CLE) each two year NJ CLE compliance period.[1] The deadline to complete your required NJ CLE and report New Jersey CLE compliance is December 31. However, there two different New Jersey CLE compliance groups, so not every NJ attorneys is required to report compliance this year.

NJ CLE Compliance – Group 1

  • Birthday between January 1 – June 30
  • NJ CLE deadline is 12/31/16

Don’t wait until New Years Eve to get going! With Attorney Credits you sign up in minutes and start studying your NJ CLE courses right away. You can study your NJ CLE courses online or you can download your courses and work offline. All of our New Jersey CLE courses are available to you at any time of the day or night. Please click here for more information about CLE in New Jersey: NJ CLE.

[1] A minimum of four (4) credit hours must be completed in the area of legal ethics. Without a valid exception, NJ attorneys can complete 12 credit hours of online CLE courses every two-year compliance period.

Tagged , , , , , ,

New CLE Course on Taking the PMQ Deposition


The person most qualified (“PMQ”) deposition is a powerful discovery tool or – or a headache of a lifetime – depending what side of the litigation you’re sitting on. Whether you are pursuing remedies against a business entity or defending a corporation, how you plan and prepare for the PMQ deposition will have a significant effect on the success you achieve for your client.

With all of the possible traps, do you know how to effectively take, defend, and prepare for the person most qualified  (PMQ) deposition?

Deposing the “person most qualified” is drastically different than the standard lay witness deposition.  In our latest CLE course, veteran civil litigator Roy Comer provides practical tips and sound advice for your next PMQ deposition. When you complete this course you will know how to: indentify what makes a person most qualified, prepare the PMQ notice, respond & object to the notice, select the PMQ witness, prepare the PMQ witness & testimony, take the deposition, spot common traps and defend the PMQ deposition.  To access the courses please click here: A Better Deposition: Person Most Qualified (PMQ) Depositions.

Since party admissions are admissible against the company or entity, PMQ depositions can produce valuable testimony that can greatly aid at settlement or sway the jury at trial.

For over 30 years Roy L. Comer has been dedicated to handling damage cases, including catastrophic personal injury and wrongful death cases arising from automobile, truck, motorcycle, medical negligence, defective products, and dangerous premises claims.

This CLE course is offered in the following states:

  • Alaska (AK)
  • Arizona (AZ)
  • California (CA)
  • Connecticut (CT)
  • District of Columbia (DC)
  • Illinois (IL)
  • Maryland (MD)
  • Massachusetts (MA)
  • Michigan (MI)
  • New Hampshire (NH)
  • New Jersey (NJ)
  • New York (NY)
  • North Dakota (ND)
  • Pennsylvania (PA)
  • South Dakota (SD)

Attorney Credits offers CLE for attorneys in New York and around the country. For more information about CLE in New York please click the following link: NY CLE.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

FL CLER: Technology CLE Required in 2017


The Florida Supreme Court just approved a new rule requiring Florida lawyers to take technology-related CLE courses. On Thursday September 29, the Court issued a short opinion adopting The Florida Bar’s proposal for mandatory technology FL CLE hours.

FL CLER in 2017[1]

We amend subdivision (b) (Minimum Hourly Continuing Legal Education Requirements) to change the required number of continuing legal education credit hours over a three-year period from 30 to 33, with three hours in an approved technology program.

The rule change will go into effect January 1, 2017, and it will require Florida lawyers to take a minimum of three (3) hours of technology-related Florida CLE courses during each three-year CLER compliance cycle. The Court approved the Florida Bar’s proposal to raise the minimum number of CLE hours from 30 to 33 in a three-year cycle to accommodate the new technology requirement. Check back on our blog, we will provide more information as it becomes available.

[1] http://www.abajournal.com/files/OP-SC16-574_AMDS_FL_BAR_SEPT29_(1)_copy.pdf

Tagged , , , , , ,

FL CLE: Late Reporting or CLER Non-Compliance


Every three-years Florida attorneys must complete at least 30 total FL CLE credit hours, including 5 credit hours of legal ethics.[1] Florida Bar members are also required to report compliance with the FL CLER (continuing legal education requirement) every three years.[2]  If you fail to complete and report the required 30 Florida CLE hours, then you will be deemed delinquent. All Reporting Affidavits will be reviewed to determine compliance with the FL CLER and if you are deemed delinquent you can be suspended from the practice of Florida law.

FL CLE Noncompliance Includes:

Incomplete reports

Unexecuted reports

Failure to timely file a report

Failure to report sufficient FL CLE credit

The Board of Legal Specialization and Education (BLSE) will prepare and serve notices of delinquency to attorneys that are determined to be in noncompliance with the FL CLER.[3]  If you are notified and deemed to be CLER delinquency, then you will be suspended from the practice of Florida law. Florida attorneys are allowed to complete all 30 required CLER credit hours through on-demand online and offline CLE courses.[4] For more information about Attorney Credits Florida CLE courses and the CLER in Florida please click this link: Florida CLE.

[1] Courses in professionalism, substance abuse, or mental illness awareness also qualify for legal ethics credit.

[2] Each member of The Florida Bar is assigned a three-year reporting cycle, chosen at random by a computer program. If you fail to complete and report the required FL CLE hours you can be suspended from the practice of Florida law.

[3] Notice will be considered effective if it is in writing and served at the attorneys address on file with The Florida Bar or last known address.

[4] The Florida Bar allows the entire CLER to be fulfilled via streaming video, audio & video download and CD courses.

Tagged , , , , ,