Monthly Archives: April 2014

California MCLE Compliance Groups

screen-capture

The State Bar of California requires all active California attorneys to complete a minimum of 25 credit hours of MCLE (minimum continuing legal education) every three years.[1] However, not every attorney is required to complete their CA CLE requirement at one time.

California MCLE Compliance Groups

  • Group 1 (A-G) Period: 2/1/2013 – 1/31/2013 Deadline 2/1/2016
  • Group 2 (H-M) Period: 2/1/2012 – 1/31/2015 Deadline 2/1/2015
  • Group 3 (N-Z) Period: 2/1/2014 – 1/31/2014 Deadline 2/1/2017

California MCLE compliance is broken down into 3 different compliance groups and compliance groups are based on the last name of the attorney.  Attorneys that are members of the State Bar of California are assigned to an MCLE compliance group only once – and permanently remain in that same compliance group, even if the member subsequently changes his/her last name.

Attorneys should report their CA MCLE compliance online through My State Bar Profile.  The benefits of reporting compliance electronically include real-time reporting to the Cal Bar database with an instant confirmation emailed to the attorney.[2]

Group 3 attorneys that have not yet completed and reported their CA MCLE compliance should do so quickly.  Group 3 attorneys have until June 30 to complete their CA MCLE requirement, report MCLE compliance and pay the $75 late penalty.  Failing to fulfill CA MCLE requirements can result in the attorney being placed on administrative inactive status.

For more information about CLE in California, please click the following link: CA CLE.


[1] As part of the 25 credit hour CA MCLE requirement, California attorneys must complete at least 4 hours of legal ethics, one hour of elimination of bias in the legal profession and one hour of substance abuse.

[2] Report Compliance

http://mcle.calbar.ca.gov/Attorneys/ComplianceInformation/ReportCompliance.aspx

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Florida CLE: Reporting CLE Credit Completed

screen-capture

The Florida CLER was adopted by the Supreme Court of Florida in 1988.[1]  Each three year compliance period attorneys that are members of The Florida Bar must complete 30 total FL CLE credit hours –   including 5 credit hours in the area of legal ethics.[2]  Each member is assigned a 3-year reporting cycle that is chosen at random by a computer program.

Members of The Florida Bar should go online to the Florida Bar website to report attendance for any approved CLE program they have completed.

Florida is a self-reporting CLE state.  As part of this Florida CLE requirement, attorneys must also report their FL CLE credit hours completed.  That means that attorneys must report their own CLE credit hours completed – CLE Providers are not allowed to report completion of CLE credit hours completed.  Attorneys that are members of the Florida Bar should go online a report attendance for any approved CLE program they have completed.  You can post your FL CLE credits by clicking this link: Report FL CLE Credits.

The course activity number for the Florida CLE course will be listed on the Certificate of Completion issued by Attorney Credits.

You will need the state activity number for the course in order to report your FL CLE credit online.  When you complete each individual FL CLE course with Attorney Credits you will be issued a Certificate of Completion.  The course activity number will be listed on the Certificate of Completion.

For further information about CLE in Florida, please click the following link: FL CLE.


[1] The Florida CLER stands for Continuing Legal Education Requirement. The Florida CLER requires all members of The Florida Bar to continue their legal education by completing Florida CLE courses.

[2]  Courses on professionalism, substance abuse, or mental illness awareness count towards legal ethics credit.

Tagged , , , , ,

Texas CLE: How to Report CLE Credit Hours

screen-capture-1

Attorneys licensed by the State Bar of Texas must complete at least 15 TX CLE credit hours each annual TX MCLE compliance period as part of the MCLE (Mandatory Continuing Legal Education) requirement in Texas.  Attorneys Credits is an Accredited Provider of CLE in Texas.[1]  As an Accredited Provider, we report your Texas CLE hours completed the 1st and 15th of each month.

Texas MCLE Compliance Requirements

  • Reporting Cycle: Annual
  • Compliance Deadline: Last day of month preceding birth month
  • Reporting Deadline: First day of month of attorney’s birth month

 

However, there are times when you may need to self report your Texas CLE hours.  This can be done in one of two ways.  First, you can report your Texas MCLE compliance online at “My Bar” page.  The My Bar page is an online portal for you to report MCLE compliance, view your MCLE hours and take care of other administrative functions with the State Bar of Texas.  Second, you can submit a coded credit input form that was mailed with your MCLE Annual Verification Report.[2]

Report your TX MCLE hours by either of two ways:

  1. Online at My Bar Page
  2. Submit a coded “Credit Input Form”

Texas attorneys must complete their TX MCLE requirement by the last day of the month before you were born.  For example, if you were born on May 12, then you would need to complete your by April 30. You would then need to report MCLE compliance by the first day of the your birth month.  So in the example above you would need to report your Texas MCLE compliance by May 1.

For more information about Texas CLE, please click here: TX CLE.


[1] Attorney Credits Texas Accredited Provider Number: 12507.

[2] This form is printed with special ink that is read by a scanner and it cannot be copied or reproduced. If you need another form, please contact the State Bar of Texas.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Illinois CLE: Reporting MCLE Compliance

screen-capture-4For Illinois attorneys with the last name A-M it’s almost time to complete your 30 credit hour Illinois MCLE requirement.  You must complete the required 30 credit hours, including 6 credit hours of Professional Responsibility, by June 30.  You must also report your IL MCLE compliance by July 31 in order to properly fulfill your Illinois MCLE requirement.

Illinois MCLE Compliance Requirements

  • Reporting Cycle: 2 years
  • Compliance Deadline: June 30
  • Reporting Deadline: July 31

 

Illinois is a self-reporting CLE state. As part of the MCLE requirement, all Illinois attorneys are required to report compliance, non-compliance or exemptions at the end of the two-year reporting period. The Illinois MCLE Board will mail a Certification Form to each attorney at the address on file with the ARDC (Attorney Registration and Disciplinary Commission). The Certification Form must be completed and returned to the IL MCLE Board by the due date listed on the form.

All Illinois attorneys are required to report MCLE compliance at the end of the attorney’s two-year reporting period. The Certification Form must be completed and returned to the Illinois MCLE Board by the due date on the form.

If you are an attorney practicing in Illinois and your last name starts with A-M, its time to get started on your IL MCLE requirement so you can complete it on time and get your MCLE compliance reported by July 31.  Please click the following link for more information about Illinois MCLE: IL MCLE.

Tagged , , , , ,

New York CLE FAQ

Many mandatory CLE states set year-end deadlines for attorneys to complete their required CLE.  New York is not a state with a year-end deadline … although many attorneys probably wish that was the case.  That’s because in New York, the mandatory CLE compliance deadline is determined by your birth month.[1]  And I don’t think a lot of attorneys want to be completing their NY CLE requirement right around their birthday.

screen-capture

While many New York attorneys are familiar with when compliance is due, there are many other CLE rules in New York.  Do you know what is considered an experienced attorney or what to do if you haven’t received your attorney registration form by your birthday?  In case you need to brush up on the New York CLE rules, we have created an NY CLE FAQ for you.

Top New York CLE Questions

What is an ‘experienced’ attorney in New York?

  • Attorneys that have been admitted to the New York Bar for more than 2 years are considered ‘experienced’ attorneys.

As an ‘experienced’ New York attorney, what is my NY CLE requirement?

  • Experienced New York attorneys must complete a total of 24 accredited NY CLE credit hours during each two-year CLE reporting cycle – the two-year period between your attorney registrations. At least 4 credit hours of Ethics and Professionalism must be completed each biennial NY CLE compliance period. The remaining NY CLE credit hours may be earned in any category of CLE credit.

If I am an experienced New York attorney how many online NY CLE courses can I take?

  • All 24 required NY CLE credit hours.

When must I complete my NY CLE requirement and report compliance?

  • Your NY CLE compliance deadline is your birthday.  You have 30 days after your birthday to report your NY CLE compliance.

What are the New York CLE compliance groups?

  • If you were admitted BEFORE 1/1/82 – or in an even-numbered year – then you report your New York CLE compliance in EVEN-numbered years. If you were admitted in an odd-numbered year AFTER 1982 then you report your NY CLE compliance in ODD-numbered years.

Does the New York CLE Board keep a record of my CLE activities?

  • No, the New York State CLE program is a self-reporting system. Certificates of Completion and other supporting CLE documentation must be retained by the attorney for at least 4 years from the date of course completion.

How do I report my NY CLE compliance?

  • The NY CLE Board will mail you an attorney registration form. You must file your attorney registration form and indicate that you have completed your required NY CLE within 30 days after your birthday on alternate years. At the time of your biennial registration, you must certify that you have completed your NY CLE requirement for that reporting cycle and that you have retained the proper records.

Who can I contact for more information about NY CLE?

  • For more information about CLE in New York, please call the NY CLE Board at (212) 428-2105 or toll free from outside of New York City at (877) NYS-4CLE (697-4253). You can also contact Attorney Credits support via email or telephone. For further assistance and information, please call our Support Center at 877-910-MCLE (6253) or visit the support page on the website.

We hope that this saves you some time and keeps you in compliance with your NY CLE requirement.  If you have further questions, you can visit our full New York CLE FAQ.  And if you need to complete your NY CLE requirement, please visit our New York CLE webpage: NY CLE.


[1] New York attorneys must report MCLE compliance when their registration card is mailed – which is determined by month of birth.

Tagged , , , , , ,

California CLE: 12.5 Credit Hours of Participatory Credit

Attorneys licensed in California must pay special scrutiny to properly completing their CA MCLE requirement.  The State Bar of California has greatly increased the number of MCLE audits – and some attorneys have even been disbarred for not properly completing their CA MCLE requirement.

California MCLE Requirements

  • Total Units: 25
  • Legal Ethics: 4
  • Elimination of Bias: 1
  • Substance Abuse: 1

California attorneys must make sure to complete a minimum of 25 credit hours, including 4 credit hours of elimination of legal ethics, 1 credit hour of substance abuse and 1 credit hour of elimination of bias.  Many attorneys also overlook the self-study/participatory credit requirement.  Attorneys must make sure to complete at least 12.5 credit hours of participatory credit.  Or put another way – attorneys cannot complete any more than 12.5 credit hours for participatory credit.

screen-capture

If a CLE provider verifies your “participation,” then an activity is considered “participatory.”[1]  In order to verify your participation we utilize verification prompts for our online CLE courses and number codes for our offline CLE courses.  Therefore, any of our California CLE courses can be completed for self-study or participatory credit.  You choose the type of credit you would like to receive before you begin the course.

screen-capture-1

For more information about California CLE, please click the following link: CA MCLE.


[1] Provider verification consists of the following: the provider has you sign in at the time of the activity (electronic sign-in is acceptable), the provider keeps a list of those who sign in, and the provider issues a certificate of attendance to attendees.  Online courses, CD ROM-based courses, and some tape-based courses can count for participatory credit if they are verified by an approved provider. If unsure, contact the individual provider to verify that the program has been approved for participatory credit.

Participatory vs. Self-Study Credit

http://mcle.calbar.ca.gov/Attorneys/EducationOptions.aspx

Tagged , , , , ,

Nevada CLE FAQ

screen-capture

Do you have questions about your Nevada CLE requirement?  Do you need to know about late NV CLE reporting or how many substance abuse units you must complete each year?  Do you need to know how many online CLE courses you can complete each annual compliance period?

Nevada CLE Compliance Requirements

  • Reporting Cycle: Annual
  • Compliance Deadline: December 31
  • Reporting Deadline: December 31

Well, we have created a NV CLE FAQ for you.  Now you can easily find the answers that you need to those pressing NV CLE questions.  Did you know that Nevada made substance abuse mandatory for 2013 – but you must only complete the substance abuse requirement once every three years?[1]

Top Nevada CLE Questions

What are the mandatory NV CLE requirements?

Nevada attorneys must complete at minimum of 12 CLE credit hours each annual NV CLE compliance period.

How many online NV CLE courses can I take?

Attorneys admitted to the State Bar of Nevada may complete all 12 required NV CLE credit hours through online CLE courses.

When must I complete & report my NV CLE compliance?

All NV CLE credit hours must be completed and reported by December 31.

Does the Nevada CLE Board keep a record of my CLE activities?

The Nevada CLE Board does track your CLE compliance. In October, the Nevada CLE Board mails out a courtesy notice to all members of the Nevada Bar. In mid January of the following year, the NV CLE Board will mail you a Compliance Report (Form 6) reflecting NV CLE credits earned from the previous CLE compliance year.

How do I report my NV CLE compliance?

Nevada attorneys must report their own NV CLE compliance through the annual report mailed by the NC CLE Board. The Nevada CLE Board will mail you an annual report by January 15 reflecting your NV CLE credits earned from the previous year. You should retain your CLE records verifying CLE compliance with the NV CLE Rules for a period of three (3) years. Attorneys should maintain and use Certificates of Completion issued by Attorney Credits in order to verify compliance. The NV CLE Board may periodically require you to produce independent verification of compliance.

Who can I contact for more information about NV CLE?

For more information about CLE in Nevada, please call the Nevada Board of Continuing Legal Education at (775) 329-4443. You may also contact Attorney Credits support via email or telephone. For further assistance and information, please call our Support Center at 877-910-MCLE (6253) or visit the support page on the website

We hope that this saves you time and keeps you in compliance with your NV CLE requirement.  If you have further questions, you can visit our full Nevada CLE FAQ.  And if you need to complete your NV CLE requirement, please visit our Nevada CLE webpage: NV CLE.


[1] See: Substance Abuse CLE Now Mandatory in Nevada

http://www.attorneycredits.com/wordpress/2013/09/substance-abuse-cle-now-mandatory-in-nevada/

Tagged , , ,

Pennsylvania CLE FAQ

Continuing Legal Education rules and requirements can be hard to find and even harder to decipher.  Each state has rules on everything from the number of units required to record keeping requirements to prove that CLE has been completed.  Finding the exact rule or information that you are looking for can be a daunting task, and you are limited on time.

screen-capture

For this reason, we have created FAQs for every state that we offer CLE in.  If you are an attorney in Pennsylvania, we have the answers that you need in regards to your PA CLE requirement.  We have information for you about everything from PA CLE compliance groups, to late PA CLE compliance.

Top PA CLE Questions

What are the mandatory Pennsylvania CLE requirements?[1]

  • Pennsylvania attorneys must currently complete twelve (12) credit hours each compliance period, including a minimum of one (1) hour of legal ethics, professionalism or substance abuse.

How many online PA CLE courses can I take?

  • Pennsylvania lawyers taking Distance Learning CLE courses may complete four (4) hours per annual CLE compliance year by completing online and offline PA CLE programs.

What are the PA CLE compliance groups?

  • All Pennsylvania attorneys are permanently assigned to 1 of 3 PA CLE Compliance Groups chosen randomly by lawyer ID number. Group I – May 1 through April 30; Group II – September 1 through August 31, and; Group III – January 1 through December 31.

Does Attorney Credits report my CLE hours completed to the PA CLE Board?

  • Attorney Credits reports your PA CLE credit completed to the PA CLE Board within 30 days of course completion. We generally report on the 1st and 15th each month.

What if my PA CLE hours are not reported as of my CLE compliance deadline?

  • If the PA CLE credits are properly completed prior the PA CLE deadline, the attorney will not be considered non-compliant once the PA CLE credits are reported.

How do I report my PA CLE compliance?

  • The PA CLE Board maintains a record of each attorney’s PA CLE compliance. The CLE Board will notify you regarding your CLE status prior to the final day of your compliance period and will provide a final compliance notice after the end of the PA CLE compliance period. If the report indicates that you are in compliance, then you do not need to take any further action.

What happens if I do not comply with the PA CLE requirements within my Compliance Period?

  • If you do not comply with the PA CLE Rules and Regulations, the PA CLE Board will send you a report of non-compliance. Within sixty (60) days from the date of the notice you must comply with the PA CLE Rules and Regulations. In addition, you must pay an initial $100 late fee. Additionally, a second $100 late fee will be assessed if the required PA CLE credit hours are not completed within the 90-day period from the initial notice of non-compliance.

Should I keep a list of my PA CLE activities that I complete?

  • Each active Pennsylvania attorney must maintain records sufficient to establish compliance with the PA CLE requirement in case there is a dispute with the final compliance report. The PA CLE Board recommends that you maintain your PA CLE records for three (3) years. The Certificates of Completion issued by Attorney Credits should be used to verify attendance.

Who can I contact for more information about Pennsylvania CLE?

  • For more information about CLE in Pennsylvania, please call the Pennsylvania CLE Board at (800) 497-2253. You may also contact Attorney Credits support via email or telephone. For further assistance and information, please call our Support Center at 877-910-MCLE (6253) or visit the support page on the website.

Attorney Credits is an accredited CLE provider in Pennsylvania.[2]  Pennsylvania attorneys may complete PA CLE courses in the following media formats: streaming video & audio, MP3 and video download (MP4).  We also offer MP3 Player and USB Stick compliance packages that come pre-loaded with PA CLE credit hours.  Please note that without a valid exception, Pennsylvania attorneys may only currently complete 4 of the required 12 credit hours through online and offline CLE courses.[3]

For more information about CLE in Pennsylvania, please click the following link: PA CLE.


[1] There are amendments to the Pennsylvania CLE rules and regulations will take effect with CLE compliance periods that have requirement deadlines in 2015.

[2] Pennsylvania CLE State Provider #8066.

[3] For 2015 compliance, Pennsylvania has increased the amount of credits lawyers may earn via online CLE courses from four (4) to six (6) credits annually. The PA CLE Board also increased the ethics component of the annual CLE requirement from one (1) to two (2) credit hours. The total number of CLE credits required annually will remain 12 hours.  The amendments to the Pennsylvania CLE rules and regulations will take effect with CLE compliance periods that have requirement deadlines in 2015.

Tagged , , , ,

Colorado CLE: 45 Online Credit Hours Each Compliance Period

screen-capture

Attorneys that are licensed in Colorado must complete 45 credit hours of approved CLE every 3 years in order to complete the CO CLE requirement.[1]  Of the 45 required CO CLE credit hours, at least 7 credit hours must be completed in the area of legal ethics. Of the forty-five (45) required CO CLE credit hours, a minimum of seven (7) credit hours must be completed in the area of legal ethics

Colorado CLE Compliance and Reporting Requirements

Reporting Cycle: Every 3 years

Compliance Deadline: December 31

Reporting Deadline: January 31

There is one bright spot for Colorado attorneys when it comes to completing the CLE requirement – all 45 credit hours may be completed through online CLE courses.  To receive Colorado CLE credit for a home study course, a Homestudy Affidavit must be submitted to the Colorado Supreme Court Board of Continuing Legal and Judicial Education.[2]

Homestudy

You can receive CO CLE credit for a CLE course referred to as “homestudy” provided the activity:[3]

  1. Is a structured course of study
  2. Is organized by an eligible sponsor
  3. Includes the use of thorough, high-quality written materials, available to the attorney or judge completing the course
  4. Incorporates some other educational medium, such as video or audio tapes, correspondence work, testing or individual conferences. Regulation 103(j).

 

Attorney Credits is an Approved Sponsor of CLE courses in Colorado.  Our Colorado CLE courses have all been pre-approved for credit by the Colorado CLE Board for homestudy credit in Colorado because our CLE courses meet the requirements set forth in Colorado MCLE Rule 103(j).

For more information about continuing legal education in Colorado, please click the following link: Colorado CLE.


[1] In order to keep your license to practice law in Colorado in good standing you must complete your CO CLE requirement and report your Colorado CLE compliance by January 31.

[2] Contact the sponsor of the course, or consult the Colorado CLE Board’s CLE Index to determine if a course is accredited.  Every Colorado attorney was given a Homestudy Affidavit from the Colorado Supreme Court upon admission to the bar or subsequently with an address change.

[3] Colorado CLE FAQ

https://www.coloradosupremecourt.com/CLE/CleFaq.htm

Tagged , , , , ,

Arizona CLE: Online CLE Must Be Interactive

screen-capture-3

In order to fulfill the Arizona Minimum Continuing Legal Education (MCLE) requirement, attorneys that are licensed to practice law in Arizona must complete 15 AZ CLE credit hours each annual compliance period.  As part of this annual 15 credit hour AZ CLE requirement, Arizona attorneys must also complete 3 credit hours of Professional Responsibility credit.[1]

Arizona MCLE Compliance Requirements

  • Reporting Cycle: Annual
  • Compliance Deadline: June 30
  • Reporting Deadline: September 15

 

It is interesting to note that the State Bar of Arizona does not certify CLE courses or CLE Providers.  It is up to Arizona attorneys to decide if a CLE course will be considered for CLE credit under the CLE Rules of Arizona, specifically Arizona MCLE Regulation 104(a).[2]  For online AZ CLE programs, the course must be considered interactive.

For online programs, what qualifies for interactive or self-study?[3]

“Where the order of presentation or the content of the course material is dependent on the attorney’s response and the attorney has an opportunity to respond to prompts initiated by the faculty or placed within the course material, it is considered to be interactive. All of the State Bar’s Online Programs are considered interactive.”

All of Attorney Credits’ online and offline Arizona CLE courses are considered interactive.  For online AZ CLE programs we use verification prompts during the course of the online course to monitor your participation.  For offline CLE courses we use number codes embedded in the course to verify your participation and completion.

For further information about the mandatory CLE program in Arizona please click the following link: Arizona CLE.


[1] A minimum of 3 credit hours must be completed in the area of professional responsibility. This includes – but is not limited to – legal and judicial ethics, professionalism, substance abuse and malpractice prevention.

[2] See: MCLE Regulation 104(a).[2]

http://www.azbar.org/cleandmcle/mcle/mcleregulations

[3]  Frequently Asked Questions About MCLE in Arizona

http://www.azbar.org/cleandmcle/mcle/frequentlyaskedquestionsaboutmcleinarizona

Tagged , , , , , ,