Monthly Archives: December 2015

OK CLE: Oklahoma CLE Deadline is 12/31

screen-capture

Oklahoma attorneys must complete a minimum of 12 Oklahoma CLE credit hours each year in order to complete the OK CLE requirement. As part of the 12 hour annual OK CLE requirement, at least 1 hour must be approved for legal ethics credit.

Oklahoma CLE Compliance & Reporting

  • Reporting Cycle: Annual
  • Compliance Deadline: December 31
  • Reporting Deadline: February 15

If you have not begun completing your OK CLE requirement, now is the time to start studying. All Oklahoma CLE courses must be completed by December 31.[1] Oklahoma attorneys may complete at least a portion of the Oklahoma CLE requirement through computer based online and downloadable OK CLE courses. Oklahoma attorneys may complete 6 of the 12 required OK CLE credit hours by studying approved online, on-demand CLE courses. We even report the OK CLE courses that you complete to the Oklahoma CLE Commission within 30 days of course completion.[2]

Failure to Complete Your OK CLE Compliance

  • If you fail to complete and report the required OK CLE credits you could be subject to non-compliance fees ranging from $100 to $700.

The Oklahoma MCLE Commission tracks your completed courses and will send you an Interim Annual Report of Compliance in late October. In mid-January the Annual Report of Compliance will be mailed to you if the Oklahoma Bar Association records indicate that you have not have not completed sufficient OK CLE credit to meet the Oklahoma CLE requirement. For more information about CLE in Oklahoma please click here: OK CLE.

[1] Oklahoma CLE compliance must be reported no later than February 15.

[2] We generally report on the 1st and 15th of every month.

Tagged , , , , ,

CLE Course: Issue Spotting in Criminal Law Cases

screen-capture

There is a great deal at risk when a person is accused of a crime. Your client’s life and liberty are at stake, and there is a lot of information you need to be able to recognize to ensure that your client’s rights are properly protected. Whether you are a civil attorney that needs a refresher on criminal law or you are an attorney that’s just starting out in criminal practice, this CLE program will cover the basics of criminal defense and issue spotting in criminal cases.

Common issues in criminal law courses:

  • Whether the questioning of the defendant was legal
  • Did the police have a legal reason to stop the defendant
  • Whether the police unlawfully seized evidence

In this Criminal Law 101 course, attorney Paul Ghanouni mainly discusses constitutional issues, police-citizen encounters, statements to police and search & seizure law. Attorneys that take this course will be able to: recognize key issues in criminal case, discuss common criminal law issues, identify key facts and conduct research on criminal topics. While this course does discuss key criminal topics & issues, it does not discuss the specific elements of criminal offenses because this information is specific to each jurisdiction. To access the course please click here: Criminal Law: Issue Spotting 101.

Further issues addressed in this CLE course:[1]

  • The exclusionary rule
  • The right to counsel
  • The right to silence
  • Voluntary statements
  • Searches of persons & motor vehicles
  • The plain view doctrine
  • The fruit of the poisonous tree doctrine
  • Key practice points

Paul Ghanouni is a criminal defense attorney based in Woodstock, Georgia. After beginning his career at a small firm, he founded his own law practice in 2007 and now specializes in teen and young adult defense. He is a regular presenter on legal issues before legal and community groups. Outside of his practice he is active with the Blue Ridge Bar Association, having served as vice president and president. He is a member of the Woodstock Optimist Club.

This CLE course is offered in the following states:

  • Alaska (AK)
  • Arizona (AZ)
  • California (CA)
  • Connecticut (CT)
  • District of Columbia (DC)
  • Illinois (IL)
  • Maryland (MD)
  • Massachusetts (MA)
  • Michigan (MI)
  • Missouri (MO)
  • New Hampshire (NH)
  • New Jersey (NJ)
  • New York (NY)
  • North Dakota (ND)
  • Pennsylvania (PA)
  • South Dakota (SD)

Attorney Credits offers continuing legal education (CLE) for attorneys in California and around the country. For more information about CLE in California please click the following link: CA CLE.

[1] Case law discussed in this CLE course includes: Terry v. Ohio, 392 U.S. 1 (1968), Beck v. Ohio, 379 U.S. 89 (1964), Moran v. Burbine, 475 U.S. 412 (1986), Davis v. United States, 512 U.S. 452 (1994), Miller v. Fenton, 474 U.S. 104 (1985), Mincey v. Arizona, 437 U.S. 385, Lynumn v. Illinois, 372 U.S. 528 (1963), Chimel v. California, 395 U.S. 752 (1969), United States v. Sharpe, 470 U.S. 675 (1985), Arizona v. Gant, 556 US 332 (2009), South Dakota v. Opperman, 428 U.S. 364 (1976), Pennsylvania v. Labron, 518 U.S. 938 (1996) and Horton v. California, 496 U.S. 128 (1990).

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

WA CLE: Group 3 MCLE Deadline is December 31

screen-capture-4

In order to complete the Washington minimum continuing legal education (MCLE) requirement attorneys in Washington must complete a minimum of 45 CLE credit hours every three years.  In addition, Washington attorneys must also complete a minimum of 6 credit hours of Legal Ethics or Professional Responsibility each compliance period.

Washington MCLE Compliance Requirements

  • Reporting Cycle: 3 years
  • Compliance Deadline: December 31
  • Reporting Deadline:  January 31

If you are a Group 3 attorney you must complete all 45 required CLE credit hours before December 31. In addition, you must report your compliance with the WA MCLE requirement by January 31, 2016. For 2015 compliance Washington attorneys may satisfy up to 22.5 credits of the required 45 CLE requirements through computer based online and downloadable CLE courses. Online and downloadable CLE courses are considered self-study according to th Rules. Please note that starting in 2016 the live course requirement has been eliminated and all 45 credit hours may be completed with computer based courses.[1]

Group 3 – WA MCLE Compliance

  • Group 3 attorneys must complete 45 hours by December 31
  • At least 22.5 credits must be live
  • 6 hours must be accredited for legal ethics credit

Don’t wait until December 30 to get started on your WA CLE! Failure to comply with the WA MCLE requirements will result in fines and suspension. Up to 22.5 self-study credits may be earned through AttorneyCredits.com using our online and downloadable WA CLE courses. Click here for more information about CLE in Washington: WA CLE.

[1] Washington MCLE: 45 Online Hours Allowed in 2016

Washington MCLE: 45 Online Hours Allowed in 2016

Tagged , , , ,

TN CLE: Tennessee CLE Deadline is December 31

screen-capture

Tennessee attorneys are required to complete 15 TN CLE credit hours annually as part of the Tennessee minimum continuing legal education (MCLE) requirement. In addition, at least 3 credits hours must be in the area of Ethics and Professionalism. Please note that in Tennessee, some courses can qualify for both general and Ethics & Professionalism credit.[1]

Tennessee CLE Compliance & Reporting

Don’t wait until December 30 to get started on your Tennessee CLE and risk fines and suspension. Tennessee attorneys must complete the 15 required TN CLE credit hours by December 31.[2] If you don’t complete your TN CLE requirement by the December 31 deadline you must pay a $100 non-completion fee and you still must complete the necessary TN CLE hours to bring you into compliance.

Online TN CLE

  • Attorney Credits offers individual TN CLE courses and our convenient one-click TN CLE compliance packages include three (3) credit hours of Ethics and Professionalism courses.

There is one bright spot for Tennessee attorneys when it comes to completing the required TN CLE. Attorneys in Tennessee have the option to complete 8 credit hours by completing online TN CLE courses each annual TN CLE compliance period. Attorney Credits allows Tennessee attorneys the convenience of completing CLE from the home or office … or even on-the-go! For more information about CLE in Tennessee please click here: TN CLE.

[1] TN CLE FAQ

http://www.cletn.com/index.php/for-attorneys/faq2

[2] Tennessee attorneys must report TN CLE compliance by March 1.

Tagged , , ,

OR CLE: Oregon MCLE Deadline is 12/31

screen-capture

Oregon attorneys have one of the larger CLE requirements in the country. Oregon attorneys must complete 45 OR CLE credit hours every 3 year compliance period in order to remain in compliance with the Oregon MCLE requirement.[1] Please note that Oregon attorneys must now complete 1.0 credit hour on the mandatory Elder Abuse reporting requirement in Oregon.[2]

Oregon MCLE Compliance & Reporting

  • Reporting Cycle: Every 3 years
  • Compliance Deadline: December31
  • Reporting Deadline: January 31

If this is your compliance year, you must finish all 45 required credit hours by midnight on December 31. You must report your OR MCLE compliance no later than January 31. Oregon CLE compliance is broken up into 3 different groups. Your OR MCLE compliance group is determined by the year when you became a member of the Oregon State Bar.

December 31 OR MCLE Deadline

  • All credits must be completed by midnight on 12/31 of the reporting period.

Oregon attorneys may complete all 45 required OR CLE credit hours through Attorney Credits’ computer based online and downloadable CLE courses. Attorney Credits offers 45 unit OR CLE compliance packages and individual Oregon CLE courses. We feature a wide selection of CLE courses covering legal ethics, access to justice and the mandatory elder abuse reporting duty in Oregon. For more information about CLE in Oregon please click here: OR CLE.

[1] Oregon attorneys must also complete 6 credit hours of legal ethics, including 1 hour on the mandatory Elder Abuse reporting requirement.

[2] Information on 2015 MCLE Compliance Reporting

https://www.osbar.org/_docs/mcle/MCLEReportingInfo.pdf

Tagged , , , , ,

NC CLE: North Carolina CLE Deadline is December 31

screen-capture

North Carolina attorneys must complete a total of 12 hours of approved NC CLE as part of the annual North Carolina CLE requirement. Of these 12 required credit hours, at least 2 credit hours must be in the area of Professional Responsibility or Professionalism. Also, please note that once every three years North Carolina attorneys must complete one required hour on substance abuse.

NC CLE Compliance & Reporting

  • Reporting Cycle: Annual
  • Compliance Deadline: December 31
  • Reporting Deadline: February 28

The bad news is that you are rapidly running out of time to complete your NC CLE requirement. The deadline to complete your North Carolina CLE requirement is December 31.[1] The good news is that North Carolina attorneys do have the option to complete at least a portion of their annual NC CLE requirement through online and downloadable CLE courses. North Carolina attorneys can complete up to 6 of the 12 required North Carolina CLE credit hours through online CLE courses.

Online NC CLE Courses

  • North Carolina attorneys may take up to six (6) hours of CLE credit through online and downloadable CLE courses each annual compliance period.

Please note that if a North Carolina attorney takes more than six (6) online North Carolina CLE hours in a compliance year, any NC CLE credit hours over the six allowed will be applied to the following compliance year and could possible result in compliance issues. For more information about North Carolina CLE please click here: NC CLE.

[1] Your North Carolina CLE compliance must be reported no later than February 28 to avoid late fees.

Tagged , , ,

CLE Course on the Importance of Mobile Phone Forensics in Litigation

CX-TDTvU0AAHvdf

For many of us, the only time we’re not using your smartphone is when we are taking a shower – and I have to admit to checking my fantasy football scores in the shower. If you are like me, your smartphone is a text messaging device and a phone… and it’s also an Internet browser, a GPS device and the easiest way to send emails and check our stocks. Other people use their smartphone to post content to Facebook, Snapchat, Twitter, Vine, Instagram, Youtube and other social media and content sharing websites. We now live our lives through our phones, tablets and other mobile devices.

Mobile Phone Forensics

From a business and legal standpoint, the preservation and collection of electronically stored information (ESI) is central in today’s litigation landscape and is only complicated by smartphones and other mobile devices. Emails, presentations, spreadsheets, memos and even pictures & video can all be potentially responsive data sources. The challenge with this type of electronically stored information (ESI) is that it is often stored in a myriad of systems and mobile devices, and each system has its own preservation and collection nuances.

In this course, attorney and global eDiscovery & cyber forensics expert Paul Connolly describes the current landscape of mobile information collection and preservation and answers the vexing question of why attorneys so often overlook mobile data in the context of eDiscovery. Paul mainly discusses why collecting the data can be ethically challenging, expensive & potentially awkward, and he also provides some proactive policy and protocol ideas to bring clarity to your practice and electronic discovery of mobile devices.  To access the course please click here: Our Phones, Ourselves: The Importance of Mobile Phone Forensics in Litigation.

Additional topics covered in this CLE course include:

  • The prevalence of discoverable data on mobile devices
  • How preservation of employee text messages & other mobile data is frequently overlooked or botched
  • The practical issues faced when collecting data
  • Ethical complications
  • Privacy questions
  • Company BYOD (Bring Your Own Device) policies
  • Shadow BYOD policies

Paul K. Connolly is an attorney and Global E-Discovery & Cyber Forensics Expert with Duff and Phelps in Santa Monica, California. He has extensive case and workflow management responsibilities and handles internal investigations and “front page” enforcement actions by federal securities and antitrust regulators. Paul often works closely with internal counsel and compliance departments at international banks.

This CLE course is offered in the following states:

  • Alaska (AK)
  • Arizona (AZ)
  • California (CA)
  • Connecticut (CT)
  • District of Columbia (DC)
  • Illinois (IL)
  • Maryland (MD)
  • Massachusetts (MA)
  • Michigan (MI)
  • Missouri (MO)
  • New Hampshire (NH)
  • New Jersey (NJ)
  • New York (NY)
  • North Dakota (ND)
  • Pennsylvania (PA)
  • South Dakota (SD)

Attorney Credits offers continuing legal education (CLE) for attorneys in New York and around the country. For more information about CLE in New York please click the following link: NY CLE.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

NJ CLE: December 31 CLE Deadline for Group 2

screen-capture-2

Attorneys that are licensed to practice law in New Jersey must complete at least 24 credit hours of continuing legal education (CLE) each two year NJ CLE compliance period. Of the required 24 NJ CLE credit hours, at minimum of four (4) credit hours must be completed in the area of legal ethics and/or professionalism. Without a valid exception New Jersey attorneys may complete 12 credit hours of online and downloadable CLE courses every two-year compliance period.[1]

New Jersey CLE Compliance & Reporting

  • Reporting Cycle: 2 years
  • Compliance Deadline: December 31
  • Reporting Deadline: December 31

The deadline to complete and report your New Jersey CLE compliance is December 31. However, not every New Jersey attorney must complete their CLE at the end of this year because there are two different CLE compliance groups in New Jersey. Attorneys in New Jersey CLE Compliance Group 2 must report New Jersey CLE compliance at the end of 2015.[2]

Group 2 Compliance 

  • If you’re a New Jersey attorney and your birthday falls between July 1 – December 31 then you are in Compliance Group 2. Attorneys in Compliance Group 2 must report New Jersey CLE compliance by December 31, 2015.

Don’t wait until New Years Eve… start studying your NJ CLE courses in minutes! With Attorney Credits you can study your courses online or you can download your courses and work offline, our online NJ courses are available to you twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week. Please click here for more information about CLE in New Jersey: NJ CLE.

[1] New Jersey has a non-resident and a medical exception that allows all 24 required NJ CLE hours to be completed through online and downloadable CLE courses.

[2] Each active New Jersey lawyer is permanently assigned to 1 of 2 compliance groups for CLE purposes, with one group reporting each year. Those attorneys whose birthdays are during the period from July 1 to December 31 must certify their NJ CLE compliance in each odd numbered year next following the completion of a compliance period (Compliance Group 2).

Tagged , , , , ,

States with December 31 CLE Deadlines

screen-capture

For many of us, December is a time to look back and remember this year’s accomplishments and also a time to look forward to a great new year of opportunity. For many attorneys, December means it’s time to get your required CLE done! Attorneys in many states across the country must complete their required CLE (Continuing Legal Education) by December 31.

December 31 CLE Deadlines

  • Alabama
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Tennessee
  • Washington
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

There is no need to panic – there is still plenty of time to complete your CLE requirement! We offer CLE courses for attorneys in almost every state with a December 31 deadline. Since our CLE courses are all on-demand, with Attorney Credits you can take CLE courses on your schedule at any time of the day or night. You can study your courses online or download your CLE courses in audio or video format and work offline, we give you the most options. For more information about CLE please click here: Attorney Credits CLE.

Tagged ,

LA CLE: Louisiana CLE Deadline is 12/31

screen-capture-1

Louisiana attorneys must complete 12.5 credit hours each year to complete the mandatory Louisiana CLE requirement. Louisiana attorneys must also make sure to complete at least 1 hour of legal ethics and 1 hour of professionalism each annual CLE compliance period.

Louisiana CLE Compliance & Reporting

  • Reporting Cycle: 1 year
  • Compliance Deadline: December 31
  • Reporting Deadline: January 31

Louisiana attorneys must complete the LA MCLE requirement by December 31 and report MCLE compliance by January 31. Penalties will apply for late Louisiana CLE compliance. If you are facing undue hardships that prevent you from getting your required LA CLE hours done before December 31, you should submit a request for assistance to the LA MCLE Committee as soon as possible.[1]

Online LA CLE

The Louisiana Supreme Court Rules allows up to 4 hours of online and downloadable CLE courses per reporting period.[2]

Louisiana attorneys can complete a portion of the LA MCLE with computer based CLE courses. Louisiana attorneys may complete up to 4 credit hours of online and downloadable CLE courses each year.  Online and downloadable CLE courses are considered ‘technologically assisted programming’ under Louisiana Supreme Court Rules.[3] For more information about CLE in Louisiana, please click on the following link: LA CLE.

[1] Such hardships would include disability, sickness or other clearly mitigating circumstance.

[2] MCLE Committee guidelines for accreditation require that a course have an interactive component, and that the sponsor have a tracking mechanism to verify the actual time spent engaged in the program by the participating attorney.

[3] Mandatory Continuing Legal Education

https://www.lascmcle.org

Tagged , , , , ,