Monthly Archives: July 2018

FL CLE: 30 CLE Hours or 33 CLE Hours??

The Florida Supreme Court approved a new rule on 1/1/2017 requiring Florida attorneys to complete technology-related CLE courses. If your Florida CLE compliance is due in the next couple years you don’t have to worry about it. FL CLER – Technology Requirement The first Florida attorneys that need to complete 33 hours – including 3 hours of technology – have compliance dates…

NJ CLE: New Jersey CLE Compliance Groups

Every New Jersey attorney is permanently assigned to one of two compliance groups for NJ CLE purposes. One compliance group reports each year. New Jersey attorneys that have birthdays that fall between January 1 to June 30 are in Compliance Group 1. Attorneys whose birthdays fall between July 1 to December 31 are in Compliance Group 2. Compliance Group 1 Birthday between…

New CLE: Tips to Avoid Ethical Violations and Malpractice Claims

What can you do to avoid a legal malpractice claim or grievance from the state bar? Most of the time it’s not rocket science, there are many basic things you can do to limit your exposure. Practicing Ethically How many times do you have to be told to communicate with your clients? Well, it’s still not enough for some attorneys because numerous…

CA MCLE: Substance Abuse is now Competence Issues

Quick reminder for California attorneys coming up for MCLE compliance in February 2019.  The former 1 hour Substance Abuse requirement has been expanded out to include mental health concerns and is now called Competence Issues.[1] CA MCLE Requirements 25 — Total hours 12.5 — Participatory Credit 4 — Legal Ethics 1– Competence Issues 1 — Elimination of Bias California attorneys must make…

CLE: Deal With the Bad Facts in Your Case!!

Every case has bad facts. But should you deal with it only after the opponent introduces it at trial – or is it better to “inoculate” the jury against the bad facts by first introducing it in a weakened form? While the conventional wisdom states that inoculating the jury at an early stage is the preferred approach, in the past 20 years…

Texas CLE: Texas MCLE Reporting

Texas attorneys are required to complete 15 hours every year to meet the Texas MCLE requirement and remain eligible to practice law. It is also your responsibility to make sure your mandatory TX CLE hours are accurately and timely reported to the State Bar of Texas. Texas CLE Reporting You are automatically given your birth month as a grace period to comply…