Category Archives: Florida MCLE

FL CLE: 30 CLE Hours or 33 CLE Hours??

The Florida Supreme Court approved a new rule on 1/1/2017 requiring Florida attorneys to complete technology-related CLE courses. If your Florida CLE compliance is due in the next couple years you don’t have to worry about it.

FL CLER – Technology Requirement

The first Florida attorneys that need to complete 33 hours – including 3 hours of technology – have compliance dates starting in December 2019.

Only if your compliance deadline ends in December 2019 (or later) then you must complete 33 credit hours every 3 years. Five of the 33 credit hours must be in approved legal ethics and 3 of the 33 hours must be in approved technology programs. Please click here to see more information: FL CLE.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

FL CLE: Reporting Your Completed Florida CLE Courses

IMG

Florida attorneys must report completed FL CLE courses online through the Florida Bar website. You will need the course ID number for the course in order to report your credit, the course ID is number will be located on the Certificate of Completion.

Posting Your Florida CLE Credits

In order to post your CLE credits with the The Florida Bar, you can login to your account on the Florida Bar website and report your FL CLE hours.

If you have questions about reporting please contact the Florida Legal Specialization and Education department at (800) 342-8060 ext. 5842. You can also contact Attorney Credits for additional information about Florida CLE compliance or visit our Florida webpages: FL CLE.

Tagged , , , , ,

FL CLE – 3 Hour Technology Requirement

The Florida Supreme Court recently approved a new rule requiring Florida lawyers to take technology-related CLE courses. If your Florida CLE compliance is due in the next couple years you don’t have to worry about it.

FL CLER – Technology Requirement

For example, if your last reporting cycle ended on 12/31/2016, then you would not be required to complete the technology requirement until the end of your next compliance period on 12/31/2019.

If your compliance deadline ends on or after 12/31/2019 you must complete 33 credit hours every 3 years. Five of the 33 credit hours must be in approved legal ethics, professionalism, bias elimination, substance abuse, or mental illness awareness programs. Three of the 33 credit hours must be in approved technology programs. Please click here to see more information: FL CLE.

Tagged , , , ,

FL CLE: Will I Get Notice About My Reporting Deadline

screen-capture

Florida attorneys must complete at least 30 total Florida CLE credit hours every 3 years, including 5 credit hours of legal ethics. Florida Bar members are also required to report compliance with the FL CLER (continuing legal education requirement) every three years.[1] If you fail to complete and report the required FL CLE hours you can be fined and suspended from the practice of Florida law.

FL CLE – Reporting Compliance

  • At least 3 months before the end of your FL CLE reporting cycle
  • You will receive an email notifying you
  • Of your reporting requirements and reporting deadline

But how to you know when your it’s your reporting deadline? At least three months before the end of your FL CLE reporting cycle, you will receive an email notifying you of your reporting requirements and the impending due date. This email will be sent to you by the Florida Bar. For more information about Florida CLE courses and the CLER in Florida please click this link: Florida CLE.

[1] Each Florida attorney is assigned a three-year reporting cycle, chosen at random by a computer program.

Tagged , , , , , ,

FL CLE: Florida CLE FAQ

How many FL CLE hours do I need to complete?  When do I need to complete my 30 hours?  How do I report compliance?  Do providers report my completed courses?  What in the world is CLER?

Top FL CLE Questions

  • How are CLE credits reported to the Florida Bar?
    • You must self-report your FL CLE credit hours on the Florida Bar website. In order to self-report your FL CLE, you will need to know our Florida Bar course numbers for FL CLE course that you complete. The Florida Bar course numbers are printed on your Certificates of Completion.
  • How often and by when do I need to report CLE compliance?
    • Florida attorneys are required to report FL CLE hours earned every three years. Each Florida attorney is assigned a three year reporting cycle. You can find your reporting date on the mailing label of The Florida Bar News.
  • What is the new technology requirement?
    • Effective January 1, 2017, each Florida attorney must complete 3 credit hours in approved technology programs each compliance period. Compliance with the new rule will begin in the member’s next reporting cycle following the January 1, 2017 effective date. For example, if your last reporting cycle ended on December 31, 2016, then you would not have to complete the technology requirement until the end of your next compliance period on December 31, 2019.

If you’re like many Florida attorneys – even attorneys that have practiced for years – you have questions about your Florida CLE compliance. That’s why we created our Florida CLE FAQ… so we can help you easily find the information that you need about your FL CLE compliance! For more information about your FL CLE compliance please click here: FL CLE FAQ.

Tagged , , , , , ,

New CLE Courses Added!!!

At Attorney Credits, we recognize that we live in a fast paced, ever-changing world.  Every new day brings new inventions, new fads and emerging trends in the practice of law – from utilizing cloud technology to drone law.

New CLE Courses:

  • A Practical Approach to 1031 Exchanges
  • A Sneak Peek at the Possible New Rules of Professional Conduct
  • Appellate Oral Arguments: Nuts and Bolts and “Do’s and Don’ts”
  • But I Only Had Two Beers!!
  • Civility and Professionalism: Gender and Culture Bias in the Legal Profession
  • Counseling Your Business Clients on Trademarks
  • Crafting a Simple and Effective Closing Argument
  • Dealing with Cognitive Bias in Trial from Voir Dire to Deliberations
  • Don’t Give Up 5 Minutes Before the Miracle
  • Estate Planning 101
  • Evidence: Advocacy and Artistry in the Courtroom
  • From Harry Ellis to Trump: The Ethics of Federal Disqualification Motions
  • How to Negotiate with the IRS in Collections and For Audits
  • Prosecuting Trademark Applications
  • Representing Disabled Veterans Before the Department of Veterans Affairs
  • The Phone Knows All: Cell Phones, CDR Reports and GPS Tracking for Attorneys

For that reason, we are constantly adding new CLE courses to keep up with new changes and developments in the law.  Our goal is to keep you as current as possible so you can best serve your clients!  For more information about Illinois CLE please click here: IL CLE.

Tagged , , ,

CLE FAQ on CLE Requirements

One thing I’ve learned about CLE is that the rules of each state are completely different and many attorneys aren’t even aware of the most basic requirements. Total credits, the legal ethics requirement, compliance and reporting deadlines – there is a lot of information to keep track of. And this takes on even more importance when you get audited because your ability to practice law rests on your completing your MCLE requirements properly.

CLE Requirements

  • Do you know the CLE requirements in your state??

Luckily, if you need answers to your CLE questions we have compiled multiple helpful resources. We work hard to bring you the most current information about your CLE rules and regulations so you can keep your law license and continue to practice law. We have a CLE FAQ for every state like this one for California: CA CLE FAQ.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

FL CLER: Technology CLE Required

screen-capture-1

The Florida Supreme Court just approved a new rule requiring Florida lawyers to take technology-related CLE courses. On Thursday September 29, the Court issued a short opinion adopting The Florida Bar’s proposal for mandatory technology FL CLE hours.

FL CLER – Technology Requirement[1]

We amend subdivision (b) (Minimum Hourly Continuing Legal Education Requirements) to change the required number of continuing legal education credit hours over a three-year period from 30 to 33, with three hours in an approved technology program.

The rule change will go into effect January 1, 2017, and it will require Florida lawyers to take a minimum of three (3) hours of technology-related Florida CLE courses during each three-year CLER compliance cycle. The Court approved the Florida Bar’s proposal to raise the minimum number of CLE hours from 30 to 33 in a three-year cycle to accommodate the new technology requirement. Check back on our blog, we will provide more information as it becomes available.

[1] http://www.abajournal.com/files/OP-SC16-574_AMDS_FL_BAR_SEPT29_(1)_copy.pdf

Tagged , , , , , ,

FL CLE: Late Reporting or CLER Non-Compliance

florida-online-cle-mcle

Every three-years Florida attorneys must complete at least 30 total FL CLE credit hours, including 5 credit hours of legal ethics.[1] Florida Bar members are also required to report compliance with the FL CLER (continuing legal education requirement) every three years.[2]  If you fail to complete and report the required 30 Florida CLE hours, then you will be deemed delinquent. All Reporting Affidavits will be reviewed to determine compliance with the FL CLER and if you are deemed delinquent you can be suspended from the practice of Florida law.

FL CLE Noncompliance Includes:

Incomplete reports

Unexecuted reports

Failure to timely file a report

Failure to report sufficient FL CLE credit

The Board of Legal Specialization and Education (BLSE) will prepare and serve notices of delinquency to attorneys that are determined to be in noncompliance with the FL CLER.[3]  If you are notified and deemed to be CLER delinquency, then you will be suspended from the practice of Florida law. Florida attorneys are allowed to complete all 30 required CLER credit hours through on-demand online and offline CLE courses.[4] For more information about Attorney Credits Florida CLE courses and the CLER in Florida please click this link: Florida CLE.

[1] Courses in professionalism, substance abuse, or mental illness awareness also qualify for legal ethics credit.

[2] Each member of The Florida Bar is assigned a three-year reporting cycle, chosen at random by a computer program. If you fail to complete and report the required FL CLE hours you can be suspended from the practice of Florida law.

[3] Notice will be considered effective if it is in writing and served at the attorneys address on file with The Florida Bar or last known address.

[4] The Florida Bar allows the entire CLER to be fulfilled via streaming video, audio & video download and CD courses.

Tagged , , , , ,

FL CLE: Can I Carry CLE Hours Forward to the Next Compliance Period?

screen-capture-1

Members of the Florida Bar are subject to the CLER. Florida attorneys must complete and report 30 total FL CLE credit hours every three-year reporting cycle to fulfill the CLER.[1] This compliance and reporting requirement is called the Continuing Legal Education Requirement (CLER) in Florida.

Florida does NOT allow CLER credit hours to be carried over from one compliance period to the next.

But does Florida allow you to carry over CLE hours from one compliance to the next? No, Florida does NOT allow CLE credit hours to be carried over from one compliance period to the next. To access more information about Florida CLE please click the following link: FL CLE.

[1] Your FL CLE reporting cycle is chosen randomly by a computer program.

Tagged , , , , ,