Category Archives: Uncategorized

What New CLE Courses Do YOU Want To See???

It’s probably no secret to you that we get extremely busy around the end of the year and through January and into the February.  That’s because a number of states have December 31 deadlines and California has a January 31 deadline.  As we approach the New Year, we are rounding out our taping schedule for 2018.
As we book our last few tapings of 2018 I ask you – what CLE courses do you want to see added?  Let us know what you want to see added and we can look for great courses wrapping up 2018 and starting off 2019…. wow, I can’t believe we’re talking about 2019 already.

Texas CLE: Texas MCLE Reporting

Texas attorneys are required to complete 15 hours every year to meet the Texas MCLE requirement and remain eligible to practice law. It is also your responsibility to make sure your mandatory TX CLE hours are accurately and timely reported to the State Bar of Texas.

Texas CLE Reporting

You are automatically given your birth month as a grace period to comply with the Texas MCLE requirements without a penalty. If you do not complete and report at least 15 hours of CLE by the last day of your birth month (grace period), you will be in non-compliance and subject to a penalty.

You must report your overall compliance with the 15 required hours on the annual verification report. Your MCLE Annual Verification Report will be mailed to you two months before your birth month.[1] For more information about Texas CLE please click here: TX CLE.

[1] If your verification report indicates that you have completed the required number of Texas CLE hours, no further action is required. If you have not completed or reported the minimum 15 TX CLE hours by the last day of your compliance year, a reminder Notice will be emailed and mailed to you at the beginning of the birth month (grace period).

Tagged , , , ,

New CLE on Examination of Forensic Documents

One of your favorite business clients hurriedly walks into your office. You can tell by the look on her face that she is quite distressed and she has been crying. When she went to refinance her home, the title company informed her that they wouldn’t be able to help her… because she doesn’t own the home. There’s a quitclaim deed showing that the house had been transferred to another person two years ago around the same time as her divorce. How can you help her to get her house back?

Examination of Forensic Documents

 Knowing these techniques will give you the insight that you need to hire a qualified forensic document examiner that follows objective scientific standards.

A forensic document examiner, Mike Wakshull has assisted on a number of cases where clients have claimed that real estate documents were fraudulently executed. In this CLE course, Mike uses actual case examples that he’s working on to explore five different ways that people have attempted to perpetrate fraud on others to take their real estate. Mike will also show you three techniques that he uses to catch fraudsters that try to acquire real estate by altering documents or applying someone’s signature to a document. To access the course please click here: Examination of Forensic Documents.

The following topics are addressed:

  • Trash marks
  • Handwriting & signature comparison
  • Overtyping
  • Examples of alterations
  • Disguised writing
  • Using Adobe Bridge
  • Comparing fonts & dot patterns on a page
  • Using quantitative measures to assist with determining authenticity

A court-qualified forensic document examiner, Michael N. Wakshull has been involved in the Forensic Document Examination arena since 1983 and belongs to a number of Document Examination Associations.

This course is offered in the following states:

  • Alaska (AK)
  • Arizona (AZ)
  • California (CA)
  • Connecticut (CT)
  • District of Columbia (DC)
  • Illinois (IL)
  • Maryland (MD)
  • Massachusetts (MA)
  • Michigan (MI)
  • Missouri (MO)
  • New Hampshire (NH)
  • New Jersey (NJ)
  • New York (NY)
  • North Dakota (ND)
  • Pennsylvania (PA)
  • South Dakota (SD)

Attorney Credits offers CLE for attorneys in California and around the country. For more information about CLE in California please click the following link: CA CLE.

IL CLE: What is the New Professional Responsibility Requirement For Illinois Attorneys?

Did you know that Illinois attorneys now have ‘new’ MCLE requirements? Traditionally, Illinois attorneys needed to complete 30 total hours, including 6 hours of Professional Responsibility. However, the IL MCLE requirement was recently amended.

New Professional Responsibility CLE Requirement

All Illinois attorneys must how complete:

  • 4 hours of Legal Ethics
  • 1 hour of Diversity & Inclusion
  • 1 hour of Mental Health & Substance Abuse

All Illinois attorneys are now required to complete a minimum of 1 hour of Diversity & Inclusion and 1 hour of Mental Health and Substance Abuse – in addition to 4 hours of Legal Ethics credit.[1] The total number of MCLE credits required in each 2 year compliance period remains at 30. For more information about Illinois CLE please click here: IL MCLE.

[1] Starting with the 7/1/2017-6/30/2019 compliance group the Professional Responsibility requirement has been modified.

Pennsylvania Group 3 Attorneys: 12 PA CLE Hours by December 31

screen-capture-3Pennsylvania attorneys must complete a minimum of 12 CLE hours each annual compliance period.[1] There are 3 reporting groups in Pennsylvania. Pennsylvania attorneys that are in compliance Group III must complete the 6 required Pennsylvania CLE hours by December 31.

PA CLE Group III Deadline

  • December 31

Group III attorneys may complete 6 PA CLE hours by completing Attorney Credits online and downloadable PA CLE courses. Attorney Credits offers individual courses (including legal ethics) and also offers 6 hour PA CLE bundles for PA attorneys, the maximum allowed under the PA CLE Rules. For more information about CLE in Pennsylvania please click here: PA CLE.

[1] Pennsylvania attorneys must now complete at least a minimum of two (2) hours of legal ethics, professionalism or substance abuse.

Tagged , , , , ,

NY CLE: 24 Credit Hours Every 2 Years

screen-capture2-1

Experienced attorneys admitted to the New York State Bar Association must complete a minimum of twenty-four (24) CLE credit hours during each two-year reporting period.[1]  According to the New York CLE Rules, an “experienced” New York attorney is an attorney that has been admitted to the New York Bar for more than two years.  Please be advised that newly admitted attorneys in New York have their own set of special CLE requirements that must be completed.[2]

NY CLE Requirements — Experienced Attorneys

  • Total NY CLE Credits Required: 24
  • Reporting Cycle: 2 years
  • Compliance Deadline: Birth date
  • Reporting Deadline: 30 days after your birthday

Attorneys in New York can study their NY CLE courses online. In fact, the entire mandatory 24 credit hour NY CLE requirement may be completed through online and offline NY CLE courses. Attorneys in New York may also complete 4 credit hours of Ethics and Professionalism though online and offline CLE courses.

What kinds of NY CLE courses count toward my CLE requirement?

Experienced attorneys may earn CLE credit by attending CLE courses offered in the traditional live classroom format, or in nontraditional formats such as audiotapes, videoconferences, online, etc., so long as the CLE Board has accredited the provider to offer the course in the particular format, or the course is eligible for credit under New York’s Approved Jurisdiction policy.[3]

Attorney Credits offers continuing legal education (CLE) for attorneys in New York and around the country. We feature one-click state bundle compliance packages, credit hour packages and individual CLE courses if you just need to pick up a couple of units.  For more information about the mandatory New York CLE requirement, please click here: NY CLE.

[1] The biennial reporting cycle in New York is defined as the two-year period between your attorney registrations.  The registration card is sent to you around the time of your birthday.

[2] Attorneys that are newly admitted to the New York Bar must complete a minimum of sixteen (16) “transitional” CLE credit hours in each of the first two years of admission to the New York Bar for a grand total of thirty-two (32) CLE credit hours.  Sixteen (16) of those credit hours must be in the following areas: Skills, Ethics and Professionalism & Law Practice Management and/or Areas of Professional Practice. The first set of 16 transitional CLE credit hours must be completed by the first anniversary of admission to the New York Bar in the designated categories of credit. The second set of 16 transitional CLE credit hours must be completed between the first and second anniversaries of admission to the New York Bar.

Texas CLE: How do I report CLE compliance?

screen-capture-13

Attorneys licensed to practice in Texas must complete at least 15 Texas CLE credit hours each annual TX MCLE compliance period as part of the mandatory CLE requirement in Texas.  Texas attorneys must also complete at least 3 credit hours of Legal Ethics or Professional Responsibility to properly fulfill the mandatory 15 credit hour TX CLE requirement.  But how do you report your TX MCLE compliance to the State Bar of Texas?

Texas MCLE Compliance & Reporting Requirements

  • Reporting Cycle: Annual
  • Compliance Deadline: Last day of month preceding birth month
  • Reporting Deadline: First day of attorney’s birth month

You will report your annual TX MCLE compliance on the Annual MCLE Verification Report.  Your Annual MCLE Verification Report will be mailed to you by the State Bar of Texas eight weeks before the month that you were born.  It is your duty to review this report carefully to ensure that it is both accurate and complete.

If the Verification Report indicates that you have completed the requisite number of TX MCLE hours, then no further action is required.

If you have NOT completed or reported the minimum 15 TX credit hours by the last day of your compliance year, a reminder Notice will be emailed and mailed to you by the State Bar of Texas at the beginning of your birth month.[1]  If you do not complete and report at least 15 hours of Texas CLE by the last day of your birth month grace period then you will be in non-compliance and subject to a penalty.  Please click this link to access more information about CLE in Texas: TX CLE.

 [1] This period is considered a grace period and you will be given this period in order to comply with the TX CLE requirements without a penalty.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Illinois CLE: What if I did not complete my IL CLE credits by June 30?

screen-capture-11-1024x497

In order to fulfill the Illinois CLE requirement, attorneys that are members of the Illinois State Bar Association must complete at least thirty (30) IL CLE credit hours every two years.[1]  As part of the 30 credit hour IL CLE requirement Illinois attorneys must complete at least six (6) credit hours of Professional Responsibility.

Illinois CLE Compliance & Reporting

  • Reporting Cycle: 2 years
  • Compliance Deadline: June 30
  • Reporting Deadline: July 31

Illinois attorneys must report compliance with IL MCLE requirements every other year.[2]  Attorneys with last names that start with A-M must report in even numbered years, while attorneys with last names N-Z report must report in odd numbered years.  To avoid late fees and possible eventual suspension, you must complete all of your mandatory Illinois CLE hours by 11:59 PM on June 30 and your IL CLE compliance must be reported by 11:59 PM on July 31.

Your best option is to report non-compliance to the IL CLE Board by July 31 and you automatically receive a grace period until September 30.

If you did not meet the June 30 IL CLE deadline, you cannot list “complied” when you report your IL CLE compliance.  Your best option is to report non-compliance to the Board by July 31 (reporting deadline) and you automatically receive a grace period until September 30 to finish your IL CLE credit hours.[3]  You will also incur a $100 late fee instead of the $150 assessed for not reporting by July 31.[4]

Please click the following link for more information about Illinois CLE: IL CLE.

[1] Towards the end of the Illinois CLE compliance period, the Illinois MCLE Board will send you a form to report the number of IL CLE credit hours that you have completed during your compliance period.

[2] The IL CLE reporting periods last two years and runs from July 1 to June 30.

[3] IL MCLE FAQ

http://mcle.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/414/session/L3RpbWUvMTQwNjA2NzY3MC9zaWQvLXFDU0FZWmw%3D

[4] The late fees are set by the Court and cannot be waived.

Louisiana CLE: 12 Credits Hours by December 31

screen-capture

Attorneys licensed to practice in Louisiana must complete 12 credit hours each year as part of the annual LA MCLE requirement.  As part of the LA CLE requirement, Louisiana attorneys must make sure to complete at least 1 credit hour of legal ethics and 1 credit hour of professionalism each year.  Louisiana attorneys must complete the required 12 credit hours by December 31 and report MCLE compliance by January 31 in order to avoid fines and suspensions.

Louisiana CLE Compliance & Reporting Requirements

  • Reporting Cycle: 1 year
  • Compliance Deadline: December 31
  • Reporting Deadline: January 31

Louisiana attorneys do have the ability to complete online CLE courses.  While Louisiana attorneys may not complete all 12 CLE credit hours through online CLE courses, they may complete up to 4 credit hours each year.  Online and downloadable CLE courses are considered ‘technologically assisted programming’ under the Louisiana MCLE Rules.[1]

The Supreme Court rules allow up to 4 hours of technologically assisted programming per reporting period.  MCLE Committee guidelines for accreditation require that a course have an interactive component, and that the sponsor have a tracking mechanism to verify the actual time spent engaged in the program by the participating attorney.[2]

A $150 late fee will be assessed against members of the Louisiana State Bar Association who fail to comply with the LA MCLE Rules – including completing and reporting LA CLE.  Any member of the Louisiana Bar who is not in compliance with their LA MCLE requirements within 60 days of the Notice of Noncompliance being sent by the LA MCLE Committee will be declared ineligible to practice law in Louisiana.

For more information about CLE in Louisiana, please click on the following link: LA CLE.


[1] Credit for online LA CLE courses is considered self-study credit. Self-study includes live or pre-recorded audio and/or audiovisual presentations and activities or other appropriate technology as approved by the LA MCLE Committee.

[2] Mandatory Continuing Legal Education

http://www.lascmcle.org

Tagged , , , , ,

Colorado CLE Reporting Deadline is January 31

screen-capture12

Attorneys who are members of The Colorado Bar must earn at least 45 CO CLE credit hours each three-year compliance period. Of the forty-five (45) required CO CLE credit hours, a minimum of seven (7) credit hours must be completed in the area of legal ethics. In order to keep your license to practice law in Colorado in good standing you must report your Colorado CLE compliance by January 31, 2014.[1]

If you did not complete the 45 required credit hours by December 31, 2013, you may file a request for an extension of time to complete your CO CLE requirements. Your request must be filed on the make-up plan form provided by the Colorado CLE Board by January 31, 2014.[2]  An extension of your original CLE compliance period can be granted only if you file an acceptable make-up plan.

An acceptable make-up consists of the following:

  1. Listing CLE programs that have already been pre-approved by the CO CLE Board that you intend to take to remedy your CO CLE deficiency.
  2. Completing the make-up CLE no later than May 31, 2014.
  3. Sending a check for $50.00 made payable to the Colorado Board of Continuing Legal Education. The fee is $100 if the make-up plan is filed after January 31.[3]

Attorney Credits is an Approved Sponsor of CLE in Colorado. Our Colorado CLE courses have all been pre-approved by the Colorado Supreme Court Board of Continuing Legal and Judicial Education for homestudy credit in Colorado because our CLE courses meet the requirements set forth in Colorado MCLE Rule 103(j). For more information about continuing legal education in Colorado, please click the following link: Colorado CLE.


[1] Be advised that even if you have complied with the CO CLE requirement, but do not report your CLE compliance by January 31, 2014, you will be charged a $50 late reporting fee.

[2] See the Colorado Supreme Court 
Board of Continuing Legal and Judicial Education website

http://www.coloradosupremecourt.com/cle/cle_home.htm

[3] This $50 fee must be paid even if your make-up plan is completed before January 31.

Tagged , , , , ,