Illinois attorneys must complete a minimum of thirty 30 CLE credit hours each two year compliance period in order to complete the IL MCLE requirement. Your compliance and reporting period depends on the first letter of your last name as it appears on the master roll of attorneys with ARDC (Attorney Registration and Discipline Committee). Those Illinois attorneys with the last names N-Z should have completed their Illinois MCLE requirement by June 30, 2015.
Illinois MCLE Compliance & Reporting Requirements
- Reporting Cycle: 2 years
- Credit Hours: 30
- Compliance Deadline: June 30
- Late Reporting Deadline: September 30
Attorneys with last names N-Z who did not report IL MCLE compliance by the July 31 have a grace period until September 30 to complete the required 30 credit hours. In late August, the IL MCLE Board will mail a Notice of Non-Compliance to those Illinois attorneys that are not exempt from the IL MCLE requirement. The attorney then must complete the necessary IL CLE hours, report IL MCLE compliance and pay the late fee by September 30. Please note that not receiving the paper form does not excuse failure to report by September 30. The Illinois MCLE Rules state that not receiving a certification form is not an excuse for failure to report.
Illinois attorneys who do not report by the July 31 deadline automatically receive a 61 day grace period until September 30 to report the required IL CLE. There is a fine for not reporting on time.
Attorneys licensed to practice in Illinois may satisfy all 30 IL CLE credit hours by completing online on-demand CLE courses. Attorney Credits is an Accredited Provider of CLE in Illinois and all of our Illinois CLE courses are presumptively pre-approved by the IL MCLE Board. To access more information about the Illinois MCLE requirements please click the following link: IL CLE.
 However, you will incur a higher late fee for not reporting on time. The MCLE Board cannot waive late fees because they are set by the Supreme Court.