Tag Archives: CA MCLE

New CLE on Franchise Law & the Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD)

Franchise law is a specialized area of law that is fairly regulated by both federal law and various state laws. Knowing the intricacies of how franchising and franchise law work can enhance your skill sets as a practitioner and help you better assist your business clients.

Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD)

The Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) must include 23 items and it includes prospective franchisees with the information they need to make an informed decisions.

In this CLE course, Joe Donnini will cover not only the fundamentals of franchise law, but also address numerous practical points that you must consider to effectively represent your clients that are considering buying a franchise. Joe will mainly discuss the legal definition of a franchise, the federal & state regulatory framework, disclosure & documents, franchise contracts and common legal and practical concerns. Joe also spends a considerable portion of the course reviewing the 23 items in the Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD). To access the course please click here: Franchise Law.

Joe mainly covers the following Items in the FDD:

  • The estimated initial investment
  • Initial & other fees
  • Financing
  • Renewal
  • Termination
  • Transfer & dispute resolution
  • Financial performance representations
  • Contracts

Joe Donnini is an experienced attorney, entrepreneur, educator, and business consultant. Having a diverse background has positioned Joe to gain perspective in multiple industries on many matters. Joe has assisted clients in key areas of business creation, development, operations, and finance.

This CLE course is offered in the following states:

  • Alaska (AK)
  • Arizona (AZ)
  • California (CA)
  • Connecticut (CT)
  • District of Columbia (DC)
  • Illinois (IL)
  • Maryland (MD)
  • Massachusetts (MA)
  • Michigan (MI)
  • Missouri (MO)
  • New Hampshire (NH)
  • New Jersey (NJ)
  • New York (NY)
  • North Dakota (ND)
  • Pennsylvania (PA)
  • South Dakota (SD)

Attorney Credits offers CLE for attorneys in Illinois and around the country. For more information about CLE in Illinois please click the following link: IL CLE.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

California CLE: CA MCLE Compliance Checklist

California attorneys that are in Group 2 (Last names H-M) for MCLE compliance purposes must complete 25 credit hours by January 31 and report CA MCLE compliance by the February 1 CA CLE reporting deadline. California attorneys beware: the State Bar of California has been conducting thousands of MCLE audits each year. From not completing 12.5 hours for participatory CLE credit — to forgetting to complete 4 hours of ethics — here are some of the top mistakes people make when completing their California MCLE requirement.

CA CLE Checklist

  • 25 Total hours
  • 12.5 participatory hours
  • 4 Ethics
  • 1 Bias
  • 1 Competence Issues
  • 1/31 Compliance Deadline
  • 2/1 Reporting Deadline

Please make sure to properly complete your CA CLE requirement if you are a Group 2 attorney. You will feel much better in July if you get that MCLE audit letter in your mailbox!! For more information about California CLE please click here: CA CLE.

Tagged , , , , , ,

CA CLE: Don’t Forget the 12.5 Hours of Participatory!!

Starting around November we get quite a few calls from California attorneys as the CA MCLE compliance deadline approaches. We get quite a few calls from California attorneys that don’t know about the participatory and/or self-study CLE requirements when it comes to CA MCLE compliance. California attorneys must make sure to complete at least 12.5 credit hours of participatory credit each three-year compliance period.[1]

CA MCLE – Participatory Credit

  • 12.5 Hours

And yes, you can take online and downloadable CLE course for participatory CLE credit.  If a CLE provider verifies your “participation” — or attendance — in the course, then a CA CLE activity is considered participatory.  Attorney Credits offers online and downloadable CA CLE courses that can be completed for self-study or participatory credit.[2] For more information about California CLE, please click the following link: CA CLE.

[1] California attorneys CANNOT complete more than 12.5 credit hours of self-study credit.

[2] You select the type of credit you want before you begin your CA CLE course.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Use My State Bar Profile to Report CA MCLE Compliance

For attorneys in California with last names between H-M the end is drawing near… the end of the MCLE compliance period! Yes, it’s your time to get your CA MCLE requirement done and get it reported. Once you finish your 25 hours what do you do now???[1]

My State Bar Profile

  • Tool used to report California CLE compliance
  • Part of Cal Bar  website

Now it’s time to report your MCLE compliance on the State Bar of California website through your My State Bar Profile account. Please make sure not to send in any Certificates of Completion to the Cal Bar. They will only ask for certificates if you get audited in July.

[1] Including 4 ethics, 1 bias and 1 competence issues & complete 12.5 hours for participatory credit.

Tagged , , , , ,

CA CLE: Last Name H-M MCLE Deadline is February 1

 

For California attorneys that have last names that start with H-M the end is drawing near – the end of the MCLE compliance period!!!  That means it’s time to get your CA MCLE requirement done! The compliance deadline for California attorneys with last names H-M is February 1, 2018.[1]California attorneys must complete 25 total CA CLE credit hours each three-year compliance period. Of the 25 required credit hours, you must complete 4 hours of Legal Ethics, 1 hour of Competence Issues and 1 hour of Elimination of Bias. And you must complete at least 12.5 hours of participatory California CLE credit. For more information about the mandatory CA CLE requirement please click here: CA CLE.

[1] Attorneys with last names H-M are considered Group 2 attorneys.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

How to Handle Child Sexual Abuse Allegations in Family Court Cases

When allegations of sex abuse arise in family law cases, they often surface in the heat of custody litigation where it is difficult for judges, attorneys and mental health professionals to assess the veracity of the allegations. These are extremely complicated and emotional cases that can be a minefield for attorneys and other family law professionals. An understanding of divorce dynamics and motives is essential.

How to Handle Child Sexual Abuse Allegations in Family Court Cases

Allison Williams will provide you with a working understanding of the psychological and legal issues that are present when sexual abuse allegations arise in family litigation.

In this CLE course, Allison Williams will provide practical advice and helpful insight into how to handle these sensitive and complicated cases by discussing the interplay between CPS & child protective services, how sexual abuse allegations are validated, litigation of child sexual abuse cases, the expert evaluation process, key rules of evidence and strategies & tactics. To access the course please click here: How to Handle Child Sexual Abuse Allegations in Family Court Cases.

Additional topics discussed:

  • Key resources
  • Finding words
  • Fantastical thinking & recantation
  • Parental access
  • Parental alienation as a defense
  • Risk factors
  • Psychological testing
  • Childhood disclosure of abuse
  • Finding corroborating evidence
  • The victim-patient privilege
  • The business records exception
  • The admissibility of police Reports
  • How to challenge a psychologist’s opinion
  • Tips for cross examining experts

Allison C. Williams, Esq., is Founder and Owner of the Williams Law Group, LLC, with offices in Union and Wall Township, New Jersey.  She is a Fellow of the American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers and is Certified by the Supreme Court of New Jersey as a Matrimonial Law Attorney. Attorney Credits offers CLE in New Jersey and around the country, for more information about New Jersey CLE please click here: NJ CLE.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

CA CLE: California MCLE Deadline is February 1

Don’t worry, there’s is still plenty of time to get your California MCLE done! If you’re an attorney whose last name states with H-M, you still have a few months left to get your required California MCLE done! The deadline is not until February 1, 2018.

25 California MCLEs

If you are a Group 2 (H-M) California attorney you must complete the 25 required MCLE hours by February 1.

Of the 25 required CA MCLE hours, you must complete 4 hours of Legal Ethics, 1 hour of Competence Issues and 1 hour of Elimination of Bias. And you must complete at least 12.5 credit hours of participatory CA CLE credit. For more information about the mandatory CA CLE requirement please click here: CA CLE.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

CA CLE: California MCLE FAQ

How many CA CLE hours of self-study and participatory credit do I need?  How many ethics hours are required?  When do I report compliance?  Do providers report my completed courses?

Top CA MCLE Questions

  • What are the California MCLE compliance groups?
    • Group 2 (H-M) – Deadline 2/1/2018
    • Group 1 (A-G) – Deadline 2/1/2019
    • Group 3 (N-Z) – Deadline 2/1/2020
  • What are the limits to the amount of self-study credits?
    • NO MORE THAN 12.5 hours
  • How does Attorney Credits offer participatory MCLE credit?
    • Streaming video – online verification
    • MP3/Video Download/CD – number verification

If you’re like many California attorneys – even highly experienced attorneys – you have questions about your CA CLE compliance. That’s why we created our California CLE FAQ… so we can help you easily find the information that you need about your CA MCLE compliance! For more information about your CA CLE compliance please click here: CA CLE FAQ.

Tagged , , , , ,

Group 3 (N-Z) Complete Late MCLE By August 31

California attorneys last name N-Z beware! Those attorneys that are in MCLE Group 3 that have failed to report MCLE compliance or pay MCLE penalties by August 31 risk a possible transfer to involuntary inactive status on Sept. 1.

California MCLE Compliance

California attorneys must complete 25 hours every three years – including 4 hour of ethics, 1 hour of competence issues and 1 hour of elimination of bias.

To avoid suspension, attorneys can sign into My State Bar Profile and pay online before the August 31 deadline. You can also print out a fee statement and mail in a payment to the State Bar of California.[1] For more information about CLE in California please click here: CA CLE.

[1] The State Bar of California is located at 180 Howard St., San Francisco, CA 94105.

Tagged , , , , ,

CA CLE: Late Deadline is June 30 for California Attorneys with Last Names N-Z

California attorneys in Group 3 (N-Z) should have had all their CLE completed and reported by March 1, 2017. If you are a California attorney whose last name starts with N-Z and you have not yet completed your CA MCLE requirement, you are late with your required CA CLE compliance. However, if you comply with your CA MCLE requirement by June 30, you only have to pay a $75 late fee.[1]

Extensions of Time

If you comply with the California MCLE requirement by June 30, you do not need to request an extension of time with the State Bar of California. A late fee of $75 will be assessed if your last name starts with N-Z and you have not reported your compliance by February 1, and you must still complete the 25 required CA MCLE hours.

Please remember to properly complete your California CLE requirement. You must complete the proper amount of bias (1 hour), competence issues (1 hour) and ethics hours (4 hours) and make sure that you don’t exceed 12.5 credit hours of self-study credit. For more information about the California MCLE requirement please click the following link CA CLE.[2]

[1] If you comply by June 30th there is no suspension, there is no make up plan, there is no disbarment. You must simply comply with your CA MCLE requirement by June 30 and pay the $75 late fee.

[2] The Cal Bar has greatly increased the amount of annual MCLE audits and the penalty for trying to deceive the Bar has been disbarment some cases. Most importantly, don’t try to lie or deceive the State Bar of California.

Tagged , , , , , ,