Tag Archives: New Jersey CLE

NJ CLE: New Jersey CLE Compliance Groups

Every New Jersey attorney is permanently assigned to one of two compliance groups for NJ CLE purposes. One compliance group reports each year. New Jersey attorneys that have birthdays that fall between January 1 to June 30 are in Compliance Group 1. Attorneys whose birthdays fall between July 1 to December 31 are in Compliance Group 2.

  • Compliance Group 1
    • Birthday between January 1 – June 30
  • Compliance Group 2
    • Birthday between July 1 – December 31

Please note that New Jersey attorneys must complete at least 24 credit hours of NJ CLE each two year CLE compliance period. Without a medical or non-resident CLE exception, New Jersey attorneys are limited to completing 12 of the required NJ CLE hours through online and downloadable CLE courses. Please click here for more information about CLE compliance in New Jersey: NJ CLE.

Tagged , , , , , ,

NJ CLE: Complete 24 Hours by December 31

New Jersey attorneys! Be advised that you must complete at least 24 hours of NJ CLE every 2 years. Please note that New Jersey has two different compliance groups.

Compliance Group 1

If your birthday fall between July 1 to December 31, you are in Compliance Group 1.  Complete 24 hours by December 31, 2018.

Attorneys in Compliance Group 1 must certify their New Jersey CLE compliance in each EVEN numbered years. If you are a Group 1 attorney that you must complete your 24 required hours by December 31, 2018. For more information on New Jersey CLE please click here: NJ CLE.

Tagged , , ,

NJ CLE: Complete 24 CLE Hours by December 31

New Jersey attorneys are required to complete at least 24 hours of NJ CLE each 2 year CLE compliance period. The deadline to complete your required CLE and report your New Jersey CLE compliance is December 31. If you are in NJ CLE Compliance Group 2 you must complete and report your CLE by December 31, 2017.

NJ CLE Compliance – Group 2

  • Birthday between July 1 – December 31
  • NJ CLE deadline is 12/31/17

Don’t wait until New Years Eve to get started! With Attorney Credits you sign up in minutes and start studying your NJ CLE courses right away. New Jersey attorneys are allowed to complete 12 hours via online CLE without a valid non-resident or medical exception. Please click here for more information about CLE in New Jersey: NJ CLE.

Tagged , , ,

How to Handle Child Sexual Abuse Allegations in Family Court Cases

When allegations of sex abuse arise in family law cases, they often surface in the heat of custody litigation where it is difficult for judges, attorneys and mental health professionals to assess the veracity of the allegations. These are extremely complicated and emotional cases that can be a minefield for attorneys and other family law professionals. An understanding of divorce dynamics and motives is essential.

How to Handle Child Sexual Abuse Allegations in Family Court Cases

Allison Williams will provide you with a working understanding of the psychological and legal issues that are present when sexual abuse allegations arise in family litigation.

In this CLE course, Allison Williams will provide practical advice and helpful insight into how to handle these sensitive and complicated cases by discussing the interplay between CPS & child protective services, how sexual abuse allegations are validated, litigation of child sexual abuse cases, the expert evaluation process, key rules of evidence and strategies & tactics. To access the course please click here: How to Handle Child Sexual Abuse Allegations in Family Court Cases.

Additional topics discussed:

  • Key resources
  • Finding words
  • Fantastical thinking & recantation
  • Parental access
  • Parental alienation as a defense
  • Risk factors
  • Psychological testing
  • Childhood disclosure of abuse
  • Finding corroborating evidence
  • The victim-patient privilege
  • The business records exception
  • The admissibility of police Reports
  • How to challenge a psychologist’s opinion
  • Tips for cross examining experts

Allison C. Williams, Esq., is Founder and Owner of the Williams Law Group, LLC, with offices in Union and Wall Township, New Jersey.  She is a Fellow of the American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers and is Certified by the Supreme Court of New Jersey as a Matrimonial Law Attorney. Attorney Credits offers CLE in New Jersey and around the country, for more information about New Jersey CLE please click here: NJ CLE.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

NJ CLE: New Jersey Attorneys Can Complete 12 Hours of Online and Downloadable CLE

New Jersey attorneys are required to complete at least 24 credit hours of continuing legal education (CLE) each two-year New Jersey CLE compliance period. Without a valid exception New Jersey attorneys may complete 12 credit hours by completing online and downloadable CLE courses.

Two Exceptions – 24 Hours Online[1]

  • Medical
  • Non-Resident Exception

If your birthday fall between July 1 to December 31, you are in Compliance Group 2.  Attorneys in Compliance Group 2 must certify their New Jersey CLE compliance in each ODD numbered – which means that you must completed your 24 required hours by December 31, 2017. For more information on New Jersey CLE please click here: NJ CLE.

[1] Attorneys that have a serious medical condition may apply to the New Jersey CLE Board to obtain all of their required CLE credits through alternative verifiable learning formats such as online CLE courses. And under BCLE 201:8 lawyers admitted to the New Jersey Bar Association who reside in, work in, and are licensed in another mandatory CLE state that allows for 100% of CLE courses to be taken through alternative verifiable learning formats may satisfy their entire NJ CLE requirement through 100% alternative verifiable learning formats.

Tagged , , , ,

NJ CLE: Late Group 1 2016 Compliance Deadline is 7/28

Attorneys that are licensed to practice law in New Jersey must complete at least 24 credit hours of continuing legal education (CLE) each two year NJ CLE compliance period. The deadline for Group 1 attorneys to complete and report your New Jersey CLE compliance was 12/31/2016. If birthday falls between January 1 – June 30 you are in Compliance Group 1.

2016 Late NJ CLE Compliance

Group 1 New Jersey attorneys are given a grace period until 07/28/2017 to complete their CLE requirement.

Group 1 attorneys that did not complete the required CLE by 12/31/2016 are given a grace period until 07/28/2017 to complete their CLE requirement. If you complete your CLE requirement within the grace period, you MUST return to the on-line New Jersey registration system to report final compliance on or before 07/28/2017. Failure to complete the CLE and to report that by the end of the grace period will result in an attorney being considered noncompliant.[1] For more information about New Jersey CLE please click here: NJ CLE.

[1] Continuing Legal Education https://www.judiciary.state.nj.us/attorneys/attcle.html

Once an attorney is in noncompliant status, he or she will no longer be able to report compliance on-line and will have to report through a reporting form provided by the Board. In addition, attorneys in this status must provide certificates of attendance proving compliance before his or her record can be modified to a compliant status.

Tagged , , , , ,

NJ CLE: New Jersey CLE FAQ

How many NJ CLE hours do I need to complete? How many ethics hours are required every two years? When do I report my New Jersey CLE compliance? Do CLE providers report my completed courses? Are there special requirements for newly admitted New Jersey attorneys?

Top New Jersey CLE Questions

  • When must I complete and report my NJ CLE compliance?
    • The New Jersey CLE compliance and CLE reporting deadline is December 31.
  • What is the non-resident exception in New Jersey?
    • If you qualify for this exception you may satisfy your entire NJ CLE requirement by taking online CLE courses. To qualify you must (1) reside in (2) work in and (3) be licensed in another mandatory CLE state that allows for 100% of CLE courses to be completed with online courses.
  • How do I report my NJ CLE compliance?[1]
    • New Jersey attorneys certify NJ CLE compliance on the Annual Attorney Registration and Billing Statement.

If you’re like many New Jersey attorneys – even experienced ones – you have questions about your NJ CLE compliance. That’s why we created our New Jersey CLE FAQ… so we can help you easily find the information that you need about your NJ CLE compliance! For more information about your NJ CLE compliance please click here: NJ CLE FAQ.

[1] Every New Jersey attorney is assigned to one of two compliance groups based on your birth date. Compliance Group 1 (born January 1-June 30) will certify NJ CLE compliance in even-numbered years and Compliance Group 2 (born July 1-December 31) will certify NJ CLE compliance in odd-numbered years.

Tagged , , , ,

NY CLE: 12 Online New Jersey CLE Hours Allowed

screen-capture-1

New Jersey attorneys must complete at least 24 credit hours of continuing legal education (CLE) each NJ CLE compliance period. Without a valid exception New Jersey attorneys may complete 12 credit hours of online New Jersey CLE courses every two-year compliance period.

Online NJ CLE

New Jersey lawyers may complete twelve (12) NJ CLE credit hours every two years through online and downloadable CLE courses – including four (4) mandatory credit hours of legal ethics (without a valid exception).

There are two different exceptions that New Jersey attorneys can apply for that allow attorneys to take all 24 CLE hours through online on-demand NJ CLE courses. These are the non-resident and medical CLE exceptions. To access more information about CLE compliance requirements in New Jersey: NJ CLE.

Tagged , , ,

NJ CLE: Group 1 New Jersey CLE Deadline is December 31

screen-capture-1

New Jersey attorneys are required to complete at least 24 credit hours of continuing legal education (CLE) each two year NJ CLE compliance period.[1] The deadline to complete your required NJ CLE and report New Jersey CLE compliance is December 31. However, there two different New Jersey CLE compliance groups, so not every NJ attorneys is required to report compliance this year.

NJ CLE Compliance – Group 1

  • Birthday between January 1 – June 30
  • NJ CLE deadline is 12/31/16

Don’t wait until New Years Eve to get going! With Attorney Credits you sign up in minutes and start studying your NJ CLE courses right away. You can study your NJ CLE courses online or you can download your courses and work offline. All of our New Jersey CLE courses are available to you at any time of the day or night. Please click here for more information about CLE in New Jersey: NJ CLE.

[1] A minimum of four (4) credit hours must be completed in the area of legal ethics. Without a valid exception, NJ attorneys can complete 12 credit hours of online CLE courses every two-year compliance period.

Tagged , , , , , ,

NJ CLE: Compliance Group 1 Deadline

screen-capture-1

Attorneys that are licensed to practice law in New Jersey must complete at least 24 credit hours of continuing legal education (CLE) each two year NJ CLE compliance period.[1] The deadline to complete and report your NJ CLE compliance is December 31. However, not every New Jersey attorney must complete their CLE at the end of 2016 because there are two different New Jersey CLE compliance groups

Group 1 NJ CLE Compliance 

  • Birthday falls between January 1 – June 30
    • You are in Compliance Group 1
  • Compliance Group 1 must complete & report all NJ CLE hours
    • By December 31, 2016

Don’t wait until December 31! With Attorney Credits you sign up in minutes and start studying your NJ CLE courses online or you can download your courses and work offline. All of our New Jersey CLE courses are available to you at any time of the day or night. Please click here for more information about CLE in New Jersey: NJ CLE.

[1] Of the required 24 NJ CLE credit hours, at minimum of four (4) credit hours must be completed in the area of legal ethics. Without a valid exception, NJ attorneys can complete 12 credit hours of online CLE courses every two-year compliance period.[1]

Tagged , , , , , , ,