Active attorneys that are licensed to practice law in Colorado have mandatory continuing legal education (CLE) requirements. Colorado attorneys must complete 45 required CO CLE credit hours, including a minimum of 7 credit hours in the area of legal ethics. You must complete your CO CLE requirement by December 31 and report your Colorado CLE compliance by January 31.
Colorado CLE Compliance & Reporting Requirements
- Reporting Cycle: 3 years
- Required Credits: 45 hours
- Compliance Deadline: December 31
- Reporting Deadline: January 31
If you fail to complete the required 45 Colorado CLE credit hours at the end of your three-year compliance period, your final CLE reporting Affidavit will be accompanied by a specific plan for curing the CLE deficiency within 17 weeks (119 days) after the date that the final affidavit is issued. The CLE deficiency plan must be accompanied by a make-up plan filing fee when you file it.
Colorado CLE Deficiency Plan
- The CLE deficiency plan will be deemed accepted by the CO CLE Board unless the CO CLE Board notifies the attorney that the plan has been rejected. You must report full completion of the CLE make-up plan no later than 14 days following the 17 week period.
Attorney Credits is an Approved Sponsor of CLE in Colorado. Our Colorado CLE courses have all been approved for homestudy credit by the Colorado CLE Board because our CLE courses meet the requirements set forth in Colorado MCLE Rule 103(j). To access more information about Colorado CLE, please click the following link: CO CLE.
 For CLE programs that are held outside of Colorado, you must submit a photocopy of your Colorado Affidavit form to the Colorado MCLE Board to receive CO CLE credit for the course. The CO CLE Board sends a final reporting affidavit to each registered Colorado attorney and judge to report compliance with the Colorado MCLE rules. Since Attorney Credit’s online and offline CO CLE courses are considered to be held outside of Colorado you will need to submit a photocopy of your Colorado Affidavit form to the Colorado MCLE Board.
 The CO CLE Board will determine the amount of the fee annually.
 The CO CLE Board will notify you within 14 days after the CLE Board’s receipt of the final affidavit if the plan is not accepted.