Tag Archives: Online FL CLE

FL CLE: 30 CLE Hours or 33 CLE Hours??

The Florida Supreme Court approved a new rule on 1/1/2017 requiring Florida attorneys to complete technology-related CLE courses. If your Florida CLE compliance is due in the next couple years you don’t have to worry about it.

FL CLER – Technology Requirement

The first Florida attorneys that need to complete 33 hours – including 3 hours of technology – have compliance dates starting in December 2019.

Only if your compliance deadline ends in December 2019 (or later) then you must complete 33 credit hours every 3 years. Five of the 33 credit hours must be in approved legal ethics and 3 of the 33 hours must be in approved technology programs. Please click here to see more information: FL CLE.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

FL CLE – 3 Hour Technology Requirement

The Florida Supreme Court recently approved a new rule requiring Florida lawyers to take technology-related CLE courses. If your Florida CLE compliance is due in the next couple years you don’t have to worry about it.

FL CLER – Technology Requirement

For example, if your last reporting cycle ended on 12/31/2016, then you would not be required to complete the technology requirement until the end of your next compliance period on 12/31/2019.

If your compliance deadline ends on or after 12/31/2019 you must complete 33 credit hours every 3 years. Five of the 33 credit hours must be in approved legal ethics, professionalism, bias elimination, substance abuse, or mental illness awareness programs. Three of the 33 credit hours must be in approved technology programs. Please click here to see more information: FL CLE.

Tagged , , , ,

FL CLE: When is My Florida CLE Reporting Deadline?

screen-capture

Florida attorneys must complete and report 30 Florida CLE credit hours each 3 year reporting cycle. But when is your deadline to report your CLE compliance?

FL CLE Deadline

Your Florida CLE reporting deadline is chosen randomly by a computer.

The Florida Bar will send you a reminder three months prior to your FL CLE deadline.[1] If you have not yet completed your mandatory FL CLE requirement when the notice is sent, you will receive a Reporting Affidavit. You must return this Affidavit by the reporting date along with an explanation of how you cured your CLE deficit. To access more information about Florida CLE please click the following link: FL CLE.

[1] The Florida Bar will also provide you notice regarding the FL CLE that you have completed. If have completed your Florida CLE requirement at that time, you will receive a Notice of Compliance. If this Notice of Compliance is accurate, you don’t have to take any further steps.

Tagged , , , ,

FL CLE: Late Reporting or CLER Non-Compliance

florida-online-cle-mcle

Every three-years Florida attorneys must complete at least 30 total FL CLE credit hours, including 5 credit hours of legal ethics.[1] Florida Bar members are also required to report compliance with the FL CLER (continuing legal education requirement) every three years.[2]  If you fail to complete and report the required 30 Florida CLE hours, then you will be deemed delinquent. All Reporting Affidavits will be reviewed to determine compliance with the FL CLER and if you are deemed delinquent you can be suspended from the practice of Florida law.

FL CLE Noncompliance Includes:

Incomplete reports

Unexecuted reports

Failure to timely file a report

Failure to report sufficient FL CLE credit

The Board of Legal Specialization and Education (BLSE) will prepare and serve notices of delinquency to attorneys that are determined to be in noncompliance with the FL CLER.[3]  If you are notified and deemed to be CLER delinquency, then you will be suspended from the practice of Florida law. Florida attorneys are allowed to complete all 30 required CLER credit hours through on-demand online and offline CLE courses.[4] For more information about Attorney Credits Florida CLE courses and the CLER in Florida please click this link: Florida CLE.

[1] Courses in professionalism, substance abuse, or mental illness awareness also qualify for legal ethics credit.

[2] Each member of The Florida Bar is assigned a three-year reporting cycle, chosen at random by a computer program. If you fail to complete and report the required FL CLE hours you can be suspended from the practice of Florida law.

[3] Notice will be considered effective if it is in writing and served at the attorneys address on file with The Florida Bar or last known address.

[4] The Florida Bar allows the entire CLER to be fulfilled via streaming video, audio & video download and CD courses.

Tagged , , , , ,

FL CLE: Can I Carry CLE Hours Forward to the Next Compliance Period?

screen-capture-1

Members of the Florida Bar are subject to the CLER. Florida attorneys must complete and report 30 total FL CLE credit hours every three-year reporting cycle to fulfill the CLER.[1] This compliance and reporting requirement is called the Continuing Legal Education Requirement (CLER) in Florida.

Florida does NOT allow CLER credit hours to be carried over from one compliance period to the next.

But does Florida allow you to carry over CLE hours from one compliance to the next? No, Florida does NOT allow CLE credit hours to be carried over from one compliance period to the next. To access more information about Florida CLE please click the following link: FL CLE.

[1] Your FL CLE reporting cycle is chosen randomly by a computer program.

Tagged , , , , ,

Florida is a Self-Reporting CLE State

screen-capture

Florida attorneys must report their completed CLE courses directly to the Florida Bar. CLE Providers cannot report for them. To self-report your FL CLE credit click this link: Report FL CLE.

Self-Reporting Florida CLE Hours 

In order to self-report the FL CLE courses that you complete, you will need the Florida Bar course number for course you wish to report. The Florida Bar CLE course numbers are listed on the Certificates of Completion once you complete a course.

Don’t risk becoming a delinquent attorney, get your Florida CLER completed and reported on time! Attorney Credits offers continuing legal education (CLE) in Florida and around the country. For more information about the continuing legal education requirement (CLER) in Florida, please click the following link: Florida CLE.

Tagged , , , , , ,

FL CLE: The Florida CLE Reporting Deadline

screen-capture-1

Florida attorneys must complete and report 30 total FL CLE credit hours every three-year reporting cycle.[1] Your FL CLE reporting cycle is chosen randomly by a computer program. This compliance and reporting requirement is called the Continuing Legal Education Requirement (CLER) in Florida.

Your Florida CLE Reporting cycle is chosen randomly by a computer program.

The Florida Bar will send you a reminder three months prior to your FL CLER deadline.[2] The Florida Bar will also provide you notice regarding the FL CLE that you have completed. If you have completed your Florida CLE requirement at that time, you will receive a Notice of Compliance. If this Notice of Compliance is accurate, you don’t have to take any further steps and you are considered to be compliant with the CLER.

You can find your reporting date on the mailing label of The Florida Bar News.

If you have not yet completed your mandatory FL CLE requirement when the notice is sent, you will receive a Reporting Affidavit. You must return this Affidavit by the reporting date along with an explanation of how you cured your CLE deficit. To access more information about Florida CLE please click the following link: FL CLE.

[1] As part of the 30 credit hour FL CLE requirement, Florida attorneys must also complete 5 credit hours in the area of legal ethics.

[2] Three months prior to the deadline for you to complete your FL CLER you will receive notice from The Florida Bar advising you that your reporting period is upcoming.

Tagged , , ,

FL CLE: Noncompliance or Late Reporting CLER

screen-capture

Every three-year FL CLE compliance period Florida attorneys must complete at least 30 total FL CLE credit hours, including 5 credit hours in the area of legal ethics.[1] Florida Bar members are also required to report compliance with the FL CLER (continuing legal education requirement) every three years.[2]

If you fail to complete and report the required FL CLE hours you can be suspended from the practice of Florida law.

If you fail to complete and report the required Florida CLE hours, then you will be deemed delinquent. All Reporting Affidavits will be reviewed to determine compliance with the FL CLER. The Board of Legal Specialization and Education (BLSE) will prepare and serve notices of delinquency to attorneys that are determined to be in noncompliance with the FL CLER.[3] If you are deemed delinquent and notified of the delinquency, then you will be suspended from the practice of Florida law.

Noncompliance Includes:

  • Incomplete reports
  • Unexecuted reports
  • Failure to timely file a report
  • Failure to report sufficient FL CLE credit

Florida attorneys are allowed to complete all 30 required CLER credit hours through on-demand online and offline CLE courses. The Florida Bar allows the entire CLER to be fulfilled via streaming video, audio & video download and CD courses. For more information about Attorney Credits Florida CLE courses and the CLER in Florida please click this link: FL CLE.

[1] Courses in professionalism, substance abuse, or mental illness awareness also qualify for legal ethics credit.

[2] Each member of The Florida Bar is assigned a three-year reporting cycle that is chosen at random by a computer program.

[3] Notice will be considered effective if it is in writing and served at the attorneys address on file with The Florida Bar or last known address.

Tagged , , , , ,

How is CLE Course Completion Reported to the Florida Bar?

screen-capture

Florida attorneys must complete at least thirty (30) FL CLE credit hours every three years. In order to complete and report the FL CLER, Florida attorneys are randomly assigned a 3-year reporting cycle. This 3-year reporting cycle determines when you must complete your required 30 Florida CLE credit hours. All thirty (30) required FL CLE credit hours may be completed by online, downloadable and CD CLE courses.

Florida CLE Attendance Reporting

The FL CLER rules require that you self-report your FL CLE credit hours on the Florida Bar website.

Florida is a self-reporting CLE state. That means that CLE providers are not allowed to report your CLE course completion. Once you have completed a course, The Florida Bar requires that you self-report your FL CLE credit hours on the Florida Bar website. In order to self-report your FL CLE credit that you complete, you will need to know the Florida Bar course number for the FL CLE course that you complete. The Florida Bar CLE course numbers are printed on your Certificates of Completion that you are issued once you complete a course. To self-report your FL CLE credit click this link: Report FL CLE.

Notice Regarding Your FL CLE Completed

Three months prior to the CLE due date, The Florida Bar sends attorneys notice regarding CLE that has been completed.

Don’t risk becoming delinquent, get your Florida completed and reported on time! Attorney Credits offers continuing legal education (CLE) in Florida and around the country. For more information about the continuing legal education requirement (CLER) in Florida, please click the following link: Florida CLE.

Tagged , , , , ,

FL CLE: What is the CLE reporting affidavit?

screen-capture

Florida attorneys are required to complete 30 total FL CLE credit hours every 3-year FL CLE compliance period. As part of the required 30 credit hours, Florida attorneys must also complete 5 credit hours in the area of legal ethics. Members of The Florida Bar are required to report their compliance with the FL CLER every three years.

Florida CLE Compliance & Reporting 

  • Reporting Cycle: 3 years
  • Compliance Deadline:
  • Varies Reporting Deadline: Varies

In order to report compliance with the CLER, The Florida Bar will provide a reporting affidavit to each member of The Florida Bar who has not completed the CLE Requirement for the current reporting cycle. You must complete the necessary CLE hours for the current FL CLE reporting cycle, update the affidavit and return it to The Florida Bar by the member’s reporting date. If a Florida attorney fails to complete and report the required CLE hours, then the member will be deemed delinquent. For additional self-reporting information and where to find our Florida State Bar Course Numbers (which you will need), please click this link: FL CLE Reporting.

If you are deemed delinquent with the FL CLER you can be suspended from the practice of Florida law.

Florida attorneys have the ability to complete all 30 required CLER credit hours through online and offline CLE courses. The Florida Bar allows the entire CLER to be fulfilled through online video and downloadable CLE courses. For more information about Attorney Credits’ Florida CLE courses and the CLER in Florida please click this link: Florida CLE.

Tagged , , , , , ,