Tag Archives: online Texas CLE

Texas CLE: Texas MCLE Reporting

Texas attorneys are required to complete 15 hours every year to meet the Texas MCLE requirement and remain eligible to practice law. It is also your responsibility to make sure your mandatory TX CLE hours are accurately and timely reported to the State Bar of Texas.

Texas CLE Reporting

You are automatically given your birth month as a grace period to comply with the Texas MCLE requirements without a penalty. If you do not complete and report at least 15 hours of CLE by the last day of your birth month (grace period), you will be in non-compliance and subject to a penalty.

You must report your overall compliance with the 15 required hours on the annual verification report. Your MCLE Annual Verification Report will be mailed to you two months before your birth month.[1] For more information about Texas CLE please click here: TX CLE.

[1] If your verification report indicates that you have completed the required number of Texas CLE hours, no further action is required. If you have not completed or reported the minimum 15 TX CLE hours by the last day of your compliance year, a reminder Notice will be emailed and mailed to you at the beginning of the birth month (grace period).

Tagged , , , ,

TX CLE: REPORTING TEXAS CLE COURSES

Texas attorneys must complete at least 15 hours of CLE during each TX MCLE compliance year. The Texas CLE compliance year is a one-year period. That period starts on the first day of the month you were born — and the compliance year ends one year later on the last day of the month that precedes the month you were born.

Texas CLE Reporting

Attorney Credits reports your completed Texas CLE courses every Monday. However, since Texas is still technically a self-reporting state it’s still the attorney’s obligation to make sure the CLE credit was received by the State Bar of Texas.

As an Accredited Sponsor of CLE in Texas, Attorney Credits does report your all your completed Texas CLE courses to the State Bar of Texas. We send lists of completed courses to the State Bar of Texas every Monday. Because Texas attorneys are ultimately responsible for reporting completion of their continuing education requirement to the State Bar of Texas, you must verify the receipt of your completed courses by the State Bar of Texas. For more information please click here: TX CLE.

Tagged , , , , ,

TX CLE: Reporting Completed Courses

Every Texas attorney must complete at least 15 hours of accredited CLE during each MCLE compliance year. The Texas CLE compliance year is a one-year period. That period begins on the first day of the month you were born and the compliance year ends one year later on the last day of the month that precedes your birth month.

Texas CLE Reporting

Attorney Credits reports your completed Texas CLE courses every Monday. However, it’s still the attorney’s obligation to make sure the credit was received by the State Bar of Texas.

As an Accredited Sponsor of CLE in Texas, Attorney Credits does report your all your completed Texas CLE courses to the State Bar of Texas. We send lists of completed courses to the State Bar of Texas every Monday. However, Texas is still considered a self-reporting state under the TX MCLE Rules. Because Texas attorneys are ultimately responsible for reporting completion of their continuing education requirement to the State Bar of Texas, you must verify the receipt of your completed courses by the State Bar of Texas. For more information please click here: TX CLE.

Tagged , , , , ,

TX CLE: New Texas CLE Courses Added

screen-capture

Our goal at Attorney Credits is to bring you the most current and relevant CLE programming that will make you a better attorney. We try to create about 4-8 new CLE course each month to constantly expand and diversity our CLE library. These are the latest CLE courses that we have added for Texas attorneys:

  • Bankruptcy, Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing
  • Digital Asset Landscape: Preparation for Changes in Legislation
  • Discharging Taxes in Bankruptcy
  • Ethics in Jury Selection
  • Hot Topics and Emerging Trends in Cannabis Litigation
  • Keep Calm and Drone On: Regulation and Liability
  • Obtaining a Green Card Through Marriage
  • Securities Crowdfunding in the Age of Kickstarter
  • The Indian Child Welfare Act
  • Top Tech Tools for Lawyers
  • Will Bias Cost You Your Next Case?

We are constantly working hard to bring you the best CLE courses and the best CLE presenters. We are not limited by geography like many city and state Bar Associations. We bring you the best presenters and CLE content at your fingertips, available at any time of the day or night. For more information about Texas CLE, please click here: TX CLE.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

TX CLE: How Do I Self-Report My TX CLE Hours?

screen-capture6

Texas attorneys that have been licensed for two years or more must complete fifteen (15) TX CLE credit hours each annual compliance period.[1] The Texas MCLE compliance year is a one-year period that begins on the first day of the month you were born. The compliance year ends one year later on the last day of the month that precedes the month of your birth.

Texas MCLE

Every Texas attorney must complete a minimum of 15 hours of accredited CLE during each MCLE compliance year.

As an accredited sponsor of CLE in Texas, Attorney Credits does report your all your completed TX CLE courses to the State Bar of Texas. We send completed lists to the State Bar of Texas every Monday. However, Texas is still a self-reporting MCLE state. Because Texas attorneys are ultimately responsible for reporting completion of their continuing education requirement to the State Bar of Texas, you must verify the receipt of your completed courses by the State Bar of Texas.

Texas: Self Report MCLE

Although CLE providers do report  your completed CLE courses, it is ultimately your responsibility to make sure your mandatory CLE hours are accurately and timely reported with the State Bar of Texas MCLE Department.

Please note that failure to timely report your TX CLE credit hours could result in a non-compliance penalty of $100, $200, or $300. Attorney Credits also offers helpful information about continuing legal education (CLE) for attorneys licensed to practice in Texas. Please click this link to access more information about CLE in Texas: TX CLE.

[1] Including three (3) credit hours of Legal Ethics or Professionalism.

Tagged , , , , ,

Reporting TX CLE Compliance: The Annual Verification Report

screen-capture-13

The Texas MCLE compliance year is a one-year period that begins on the first day of the month you were born and ends one year later on the last day of the month that precedes the month of your birth. Texas attorneys must complete and report 15 hours each year.[1]

The Annual Verification Report[2]

In order to report compliance, your annual Texas MCLE Verification Report will be mailed to you eight weeks before your month of birth. If you have not completed or reported the required 15 hours by the last day of your compliance year, a reminder notice will be emailed and mailed to you at the beginning of your birth month (the grace period). You must cure your CLE deficiency.

Timely CLE Reporting requires that all TX CLE hours be received by the Texas MCLE Director by the last day of your birth month. Since Texas is a self-reporting CLE state, it is your responsibility to make sure your mandatory Texas CLE hours are accurately and timely reported. Failure to timely report your TX CLE credit hours could result in a non-compliance penalty of $100, $200, or $300. For more information about Texas CLE, please click here: TX CLE.

[1] Please note that every Texas attorney has an automatic grace period to complete and report mandatory TX CLE hours for the TX CLE compliance year.

[2] If the report indicates that you have completed the requisite number of TX CLE hours, then you don’t have to take any further action.

Tagged , , , , , ,

TX CLE: Compliance, Reporting… & the Grace Period

screen-capture

Texas attorneys must complete annual TX MCLE requirements if they want to continue to practice law in the Lone Star state. As part of the annual CLE requirement in Texas, attorneys must complete a minimum of 15 TX CLE credit hours. Texas attorneys must also complete at least 3 credit hours of Legal Ethics or Professional Responsibility each year in order to satisfy the mandatory TX CLE requirement.

TX CLE Compliance & Reporting

  • Reporting Cycle: Annual
  • Compliance Deadline: Last day of month before birth month
  • Reporting Deadline: First day of month of birth month

Texas attorneys often ask about the deadline to complete the the TX MCLE requirement. The answer to that question depends on when you were born. Your TX MCLE compliance year is a one-year period that begins on the first day of the month that you were born. The MCLE compliance period ends one year later on the last day of the month that precedes your birth month. All TX CLE must be completed and reported (received by the Texas MCLE Director) by the last day of your birth month in order to avoid a non-compliance penalty fee.

TX MCLE – Grace Period

Each Texas attorney has an automatic grace period – the end of his or her birth month – to complete AND report TX MCLE hours for that compliance year.

If you have NOT completed or reported the required 15 TX credit hours by the last day of your compliance year, you will receive a reminder Notice via email and regular mail from the State Bar of Texas at the beginning of your birth month. If you do not complete and report at least 15 hours of Texas CLE by the last day the grace period then you will be in non-compliance and subject to a penalty ranging between $100-$300. Please click this link to access more information about CLE in Texas: TX CLE.

Tagged , , , , , ,

TX CLE: Are Online CLE Courses Eligible for Credit?

screen-capture

As part of the mandatory CLE requirement, Texas attorneys must complete at least 15 TX CLE credit hours each year. Texas attorneys must also complete at least 3 credit hours of Legal Ethics or Professional Responsibility as part of the mandatory 15 credit hour TX CLE requirement. Your annual TX CLE compliance deadline is determined by the month of your birth.

Texas CLE Reporting

All Texas CLE must be completed and reported by the last day of your birth month in order to avoid a non-compliance penalty fee.

The good news is that Texas attorneys may complete their entire 15 credit hour annual Texas CLE requirement by taking online and downloadable CLE courses.[1] In Texas, CLE activities may include both live and prerecorded presentations. Since Texas allows pre-recorded on-demand formats, Texas attorneys have a variety of options to complete their TX MCLE requirement.

TX MCLE approved activities may include:

  • Online on-demand CLE courses
  • CLE webinars
  • CLE Podcasts (MP3s)
  • DVD & CD courses

Attorney Credits is an Approved Provider of continuing legal education (CLE) courses in Texas.[2] You can study your Texas CLE courses online with our streaming video CLE courses or download your TX CLE courses and study offline. Since we are Approved Providers all of our TX CLE courses have been approved for CLE credit by the State Bar of Texas. For more information about CLE courses, requirements and deadlines, please click the following link: Texas CLE.

[1] As long as the programs have been accredited by The State Bar of Texas.

[2] Texas State Provider #12507

http://www.attorneycredits.com/Texas-cle-information

Tagged , , , , , ,

Texas MCLE: Does the State Bar of Texas keep a record of my CLE activities completed?

screen-capture

Every active member of the State Bar of Texas that has been licensed for at least two years must complete fifteen (15) TX CLE credit hours each year.[1] The Texas CLE compliance year is a one-year period that begins on the first day of the month you were born. The compliance period ends one year later on the last day of the month that precedes the month of your birth.[2]

Texas CLE Reporting

All Texas CLE must be completed and reported by the last day of your birth month in order to avoid a non-compliance penalty fee.

The Texas MCLE Department does keep track of each Texas attorney’s mandatory CLE compliance and CLE course completion. You can check your Texas CLE compliance by accessing your CLE account on the State Bar of Texas website or by contacting the State Bar of Texas. Please note that while CLE sponsors are required to report attendance, since Texas is a self-reporting MCLE state Texas attorneys are ultimately responsible for making sure that CLE attendance is properly reported. You must report your overall completion of the 15 credit hour annual requirement through the Texas MCLE Annual Verification Report.[3]

Texas CLE Tracking

The Texas MCLE Department tracks each Texas attorney’s CLE course completion. Please note that while CLE providers must report your course completion, Texas is still considered a self-reporting CLE state. It is ultimately your responsibility to make sure your mandatory MCLE hours are accurately and timely reported.

Failure to timely report your TX CLE credit hours could result in a non-compliance penalty of $100, $200 or $300.[4] If you have questions about the amount of TX MCLE you have completed please contact the State Bar of Texas. For more information about the Texas MCLE requirement, deadlines, compliance or Texas CLE bundles please click here: TX CLE.

[1] Including three (3) hours in the area of Legal Ethics or Professionalism each year.

[2] Every Texas attorney has an automatic grace period to complete and report mandatory TX CLE hours for the TX CLE compliance year. The grace period runs until the end of your birth month.

[3] Your Annual Texas MCLE Verification Report will be mailed to you 8 weeks BEFORE your birth month. You must review this Verification Report very carefully and if the report indicates that you have completed the requisite number of TX MCLE hours, then no further action is needed. If you have not completed or reported the required 15 hours by the last day of your compliance year, a reminder Notice will be emailed and mailed to you at the beginning of the birth month (the grace period).

[4] If you do not complete and report at least 15 hours of TX CLE by the last day of your birth month (grace period), you will be in non-compliance with the TX MCLE requirement and subject to a penalty.

Tagged , , , ,

Texas CLE: Definition of MCLE Compliance Year

screen-capture-13

Attorneys that are licensed to practice law by the State Bar of Texas must complete annual TX MCLE requirements. As part of the CLE requirement in Texas, attorneys must complete a minimum of 15 TX CLE credit hours annually. Texas attorneys must also complete at least 3 credit hours of Legal Ethics or Professional Responsibility to properly fulfill the mandatory 15 credit hour TX CLE requirement.

TX CLE Compliance Requirements

  • Reporting Cycle: Annual
  • Compliance Deadline: Last day of month before birth month
  • Reporting Deadline: First day of month of birth month

But when do you have to complete your TX MCLE? Your MCLE compliance year is a one-year period that begins on the first day of the month that you were born. The MCLE compliance period ends one year later on the last day of the month that precedes your birth month. Each Texas attorney has an automatic grace period – the end of his or her birth month – to complete and report TX MCLE hours for that compliance year.

All TX CLE must be completed and reported (received by the MCLE Director) by the last day of your birth month in order to avoid a non-compliance penalty fee.

If you have NOT completed or reported the required 15 TX credit hours by the last day of your compliance year, a reminder Notice will be emailed and mailed to you by the State Bar of Texas at the beginning of your birth month. If you do not complete and report at least 15 hours of Texas CLE by the last day of your birth month grace period then you will be in non-compliance and subject to a penalty ranging between $100-$300. Please click this link to access more information about CLE in Texas: TX CLE.

Tagged , , , , , ,