Tag Archives: TX MCLE

TX CLE: REPORTING TEXAS CLE COURSES

Texas attorneys must complete at least 15 hours of CLE during each TX MCLE compliance year. The Texas CLE compliance year is a one-year period. That period starts on the first day of the month you were born — and the compliance year ends one year later on the last day of the month that precedes the month you were born.

Texas CLE Reporting

Attorney Credits reports your completed Texas CLE courses every Monday. However, since Texas is still technically a self-reporting state it’s still the attorney’s obligation to make sure the CLE credit was received by the State Bar of Texas.

As an Accredited Sponsor of CLE in Texas, Attorney Credits does report your all your completed Texas CLE courses to the State Bar of Texas. We send lists of completed courses to the State Bar of Texas every Monday. Because Texas attorneys are ultimately responsible for reporting completion of their continuing education requirement to the State Bar of Texas, you must verify the receipt of your completed courses by the State Bar of Texas. For more information please click here: TX CLE.

Tagged , , , , ,

TX CLE: Complete 15 TX MCLE Hours Annually

Texas attorneys have an annual TX MCLE requirement. Attorneys in Texas must complete at least 15 hours annually, including at least 3 hours of legal ethics. If you have not completed or reported the 15 hours by the last day of your compliance period, a reminder Notice will be emailed and mailed to you at the beginning of your birth month.

TX CLE – Grace Period

  • Your birth month is essentially a grace period to complete the required 15 hours.

You will automatically be given your birth month as a grace period in order to comply with the TX MCLE requirements without a penalty. If you do not complete and report at least 15 hours of CLE by the last day of the grace period, you will be in non-compliance and subject to a penalty. For more information about CLE in Texas please click here: TX CLE.

Tagged , , , ,

TX CLE: Whose Responsibility is it to Ensure That Your TX CLE Hours are Properly Reported?

Texas attorneys are required to finish fifteen (15) TX CLE credit hours each annual Texas MCLE compliance period, including three (3) credit hours of legal ethics or professionalism. The Texas CLE compliance year is a one-year period. It begins on the first day of the month you were born and your compliance year ends one year later on the last day of the month that precedes the month of your birth.

TX CLE Reporting

Although MCLE providers are required to report completed CLE courses, Texas is technically a self-reporting state. Individual attorneys must ensure that their CLE credits were properly reported.

When you finish CLE courses, CLE providers are required to complete your completed TX CLE courses to the State Bar of Texas. However, since Texas is technically a self-reporting CLE state you must verify the receipt of your TX CLE compliance information because Texas attorneys are ultimately responsible for ensuring that CLE courses are properly reported. For more information about Texas CLE please click here: TX CLE.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

TX CLE: Reporting Completed Courses

Every Texas attorney must complete at least 15 hours of accredited CLE during each MCLE compliance year. The Texas CLE compliance year is a one-year period. That period begins on the first day of the month you were born and the compliance year ends one year later on the last day of the month that precedes your birth month.

Texas CLE Reporting

Attorney Credits reports your completed Texas CLE courses every Monday. However, it’s still the attorney’s obligation to make sure the credit was received by the State Bar of Texas.

As an Accredited Sponsor of CLE in Texas, Attorney Credits does report your all your completed Texas CLE courses to the State Bar of Texas. We send lists of completed courses to the State Bar of Texas every Monday. However, Texas is still considered a self-reporting state under the TX MCLE Rules. Because Texas attorneys are ultimately responsible for reporting completion of their continuing education requirement to the State Bar of Texas, you must verify the receipt of your completed courses by the State Bar of Texas. For more information please click here: TX CLE.

Tagged , , , , ,

TX CLE Reporting: The Annual Verification Report

screen-capture-1

Texas attorneys get an extra birthday present! Your Texas MCLE compliance year begins on the first day of the month you were born and ends one year later on the last day of the month that precedes the month of your birth.[1] Your birthday present – you get a grace period though your birth month to complete your 15 required TX CLE hours without penalty.

The Annual Verification Report[2]

  • The Texas MCLE Verification Report
    • Will be mailed to you 8 weeks before your birth month
  • Grace Period
    • A reminder notice will be emailed and mailed to you
    • At the beginning of your birth month
  • Cure your CLE deficiency
    • If you have not completed or reported the required 15 hours
    • By the last day of your compliance year
    • You must cure your CLE deficiency

While many providers report your completed Texas CLE hours, since Texas is a self-reporting CLE state it is your responsibility to make sure your Texas MCLE is accurately and timely reported. Failure to timely report your TX CLE hours could result in a non-compliance penalty. For more information about Texas CLE, please click here: TX CLE.

[1] The Texas MCLE compliance year is a one-year period.

[2] Report Your MCLE Hours https://www.texasbar.com/AM/template.cfm?section=Reporting_MCLE_Hours

Tagged , , ,

TX CLE: Texas MCLE FAQ

How many TX CLE hours do you have to complete?  How do you report your CLE credit? Does the provider report your Texas CLE credit?  How many ethics hours are required each year?

Top TX MCLE Questions

  • When must I complete and report completion of my Texas CLE requirement?
    • The Texas CLE compliance year is a one-year period that begins on the first day of the month you were born and ends one year later on the last day of the month that precedes the month of your birth. Every Texas attorney is granted an automatic grace period to complete and report mandatory TX CLE hours for the TX CLE compliance year. This TX CLE grace period runs until the end of the birth month.
  • Does Attorney Credits keep track and report my Texas CLE hours completed?
    • Yes, Attorney Credits does report your Texas CLE credit completed to the State Bar of Texas. We send completed lists to the State Bar of Texas every Monday. We report on Monday for all courses completed the previous Monday 12:00:01 AM to Sunday 12:59:59 PM.
  • Whose responsibility is it to ensure that your TX CLE hours are properly reported?
    • You. Since Texas is a self-reporting CLE state you must verify the receipt of your TX CLE compliance information because Texas attorneys are ultimately responsible for reporting completion of their TX CLE requirement to the State Bar of Texas.
  • How do I report my annual Texas MCLE compliance?
    • Your MCLE Annual Verification Report will be mailed to you by the State Bar of Texas eight (8) weeks before your birth month. It is your duty to review this report carefully. If the Verification Report indicates that you have completed the required number of TX CLE hours, you do not need to take any further action. If you have not completed or reported the minimum 15 TX CLE credit hours by the last day of your TX CLE compliance year, a reminder notice will be emailed and mailed to you by the State Bar of Texas at the beginning of your birth month. If you are not in compliance with your mandatory TX CLE requirement you can either report your TX CLE compliance online or submit a coded Credit Input Form that is mailed along with your MCLE Annual Verification Report.

If you’re like many attorneys, you have questions about your CLE compliance. That’s why we created our Texas CLE FAQ… so we can help you easily find the information that you need about your TX MCLE compliance! For more information about your TX CLE compliance please click here: TX CLE FAQ.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

TX CLE: Who Reports My Texas CLE Hours?

screen-capture-1

Texas attorneys must complete fifteen (15) TX CLE credit hours each annual compliance period, including three (3) credit hours of legal ethics or professionalism. The Texas CLE compliance year is a one-year period that begins on the first day of the month you were born. Your compliance year ends one year later on the last day of the month that precedes the month of your birth.[1]

Texas attorneys must complete a minimum of 15 hours of accredited TX CLE each compliance period.

As an Accredited CLE Sponsor in Texas, Attorney Credits reports your all your completed TX CLE courses to the State Bar of Texas. We report completed courses to the State Bar of Texas every Monday. However, Texas is still a self-reporting state. You must verify the receipt of your completed courses by the State Bar of Texas because Texas attorneys are ultimately responsible for reporting completion of their continuing education requirement to the State Bar of Texas.[2]

It is each individual Texas attorney to ensure that your mandatory TX CLE hours are accurately and timely reported with the State Bar of Texas MCLE Department.

If you do not report your TX CLE credit hours in a timely fashion it could result in a non-compliance penalty of $100, $200, or $300. Attorney Credits also offers additional helpful information about continuing legal education (CLE) for attorneys licensed to practice in Texas. Please click this link to access more information about CLE in Texas: Texas CLE.

[1] Every Texas attorney also has a grace period to complete and report mandatory TX CLE hours for the TX CLE compliance year. The Texas CLE grace period runs until the end of your birth month.

[2] Please Note: We report on Monday for all courses completed the previous Monday 12:00:01 AM to Sunday 12:59:59 PM. Therefore, if your deadline is Thursday and you finish your courses on Tuesday you must self-report the courses to the State Bar of Texas yourself, since the next time we report, your deadline will have passed. We are not responsible if your courses are submitted past your reporting deadline.

Tagged , , , , , ,

TX CLE: How Do I Self-Report My TX CLE Hours?

screen-capture6

Texas attorneys that have been licensed for two years or more must complete fifteen (15) TX CLE credit hours each annual compliance period.[1] The Texas MCLE compliance year is a one-year period that begins on the first day of the month you were born. The compliance year ends one year later on the last day of the month that precedes the month of your birth.

Texas MCLE

Every Texas attorney must complete a minimum of 15 hours of accredited CLE during each MCLE compliance year.

As an accredited sponsor of CLE in Texas, Attorney Credits does report your all your completed TX CLE courses to the State Bar of Texas. We send completed lists to the State Bar of Texas every Monday. However, Texas is still a self-reporting MCLE state. Because Texas attorneys are ultimately responsible for reporting completion of their continuing education requirement to the State Bar of Texas, you must verify the receipt of your completed courses by the State Bar of Texas.

Texas: Self Report MCLE

Although CLE providers do report  your completed CLE courses, it is ultimately your responsibility to make sure your mandatory CLE hours are accurately and timely reported with the State Bar of Texas MCLE Department.

Please note that failure to timely report your TX CLE credit hours could result in a non-compliance penalty of $100, $200, or $300. Attorney Credits also offers helpful information about continuing legal education (CLE) for attorneys licensed to practice in Texas. Please click this link to access more information about CLE in Texas: TX CLE.

[1] Including three (3) credit hours of Legal Ethics or Professionalism.

Tagged , , , , ,

Does Attorney Credits Report My Completed MCLE Hours to the State Bar of Texas?

screen-capture-2

Yes, Attorney Credits does report your completed courses to the State Bar of Texas. We report your completed Texas CLE courses to the State Bar of Texas every Monday. Please note that we report on Monday for all courses completed the previous week[1].

Texas – Self-Reporting State

However, since Texas is a self-reporting state you must verify that the State Bar of Texas received the reported CLE credit. Texas attorneys are ultimately responsible for ensuring that the correct hours are reported to the State Bar of Texas.

Therefore, if your deadline is Thursday and you finish your TX MCLE courses on Wednesday you must self-report the courses to the State Bar of Texas yourself, since the next time we report, your deadline will have passed. We are not responsible if your courses are submitted past your reporting deadline.[2]

[1] Courses completed between 12:00:01 AM on Monday to Sunday 12:59:59 PM.

[2] To self report your Texas MCLE hours please click this link:

https://www.texasbar.com/AM/Template.cfm?Section=MyPage&Template=/Security/Login.cfm

Tagged , , , ,

Reporting TX CLE Compliance: The Annual Verification Report

screen-capture-13

The Texas MCLE compliance year is a one-year period that begins on the first day of the month you were born and ends one year later on the last day of the month that precedes the month of your birth. Texas attorneys must complete and report 15 hours each year.[1]

The Annual Verification Report[2]

In order to report compliance, your annual Texas MCLE Verification Report will be mailed to you eight weeks before your month of birth. If you have not completed or reported the required 15 hours by the last day of your compliance year, a reminder notice will be emailed and mailed to you at the beginning of your birth month (the grace period). You must cure your CLE deficiency.

Timely CLE Reporting requires that all TX CLE hours be received by the Texas MCLE Director by the last day of your birth month. Since Texas is a self-reporting CLE state, it is your responsibility to make sure your mandatory Texas CLE hours are accurately and timely reported. Failure to timely report your TX CLE credit hours could result in a non-compliance penalty of $100, $200, or $300. For more information about Texas CLE, please click here: TX CLE.

[1] Please note that every Texas attorney has an automatic grace period to complete and report mandatory TX CLE hours for the TX CLE compliance year.

[2] If the report indicates that you have completed the requisite number of TX CLE hours, then you don’t have to take any further action.

Tagged , , , , , ,