Attorneys licensed to practice law by the State Bar of Texas must complete at least 15 Texas CLE credit hours each annual TX MCLE compliance period to complete the Mandatory Continuing Legal Education requirement. Like every other state in the country that has mandatory CLE requirements, Texas attorneys must also complete legal ethics courses as part of the CLE requirement.
Texas MCLE Compliance & Reporting Requirements
- Reporting Cycle: Annual
- Compliance Deadline: Last day of month preceding birth month
- Reporting Deadline: First day of attorney’s birth month
The Texas CLE compliance year is a one-year period that begins on the first day of the month that you were born. The compliance period ends one year later on the last day of the month that precedes your birth month. Texas attorneys also have a grace period to complete and report TX CLE compliance that runs until the end of your birth month.
If you fail to timely report your Texas CLE credit hours it could result in a non-compliance penalty of $100, $200, or $300.
Attorney Credits will report the completion of your TX CLE courses to the State Bar of Texas once a week. However, Texas is still a self-reporting state. Since Texas is a self-reporting state it is your responsibility to make sure your mandatory TX MCLE hours are accurately and timely reported. Failure to timely complete and report your Texas CLE credit hours could result in a non-compliance penalty of $100, $200, or $300. Please click this link to access more information about CLE in Texas: Texas CLE.
 Texas attorneys must complete 3 credit hours of Legal Ethics or Professional Responsibility every year.